Lordi Babez for Breakfast

Get email alerts for Lordi
SALE: $7.99
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $4.99 (38% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 10788
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 14, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: The End Records


  • 1.SCG5: It's a Boy!
  • 2.Babez for Breakfast
  • 3.This Is Heavy Metal
  • 4.The Rock Police
  • 5.Discoevil
  • 6.Call Off the Wedding - (featuring Bruce Kulick)
  • 7.I Am Bigger Than You
  • 8.Zombie Rawk Machine
  • 9.Midnite Lover
  • 10.Give Your Life for Rock 'n' Roll
  • 11.Non Stop Nite
  • 12.Amen's Lament to Ra
  • 13.Loud and Loaded
  • 14.Granny's Gone Crazy
  • 15.Devil's Lullaby

Product Description:

Personnel: Lordi (vocals, background vocals); Tracy Lipp, Clay Vann, Bryan "Lionman" Blumer (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Michael Wagener .
Recording information: Lordi's Lair, Helsinki, Finland; Stagg Street Studio; WireWorld Studio, Nashville, TN.
Photographer: Petri Haggren.
When theatrical/makeup bands like Alice Cooper and Kiss first appeared on the scene in the early '70s, quite a few journalists wrote them off as having to hide behind a gimmick, claiming that their material wasn't strong enough to stand on its own. Decades later, it's pretty obvious that these scribes didn't know what the heck they were talking about, as those two highly influential artists are still rocking. That said, however, it's hard not to have that same thought pop into your head whenever another new theatrical band appears on the scene, such as Lordi, who have made a career out of elaborate costumes and ghoulish masks. On their fifth studio effort overall, 2010's Babez for Breakfast, the group is back with an album of tunes that seems to be based equally in vintage '80s metal and Rob Zombie's brand of electro metal. Case in point, "Call Off the Wedding" (a tune co-written with former Kiss guitarist Bruce Kulick), which sounds like a power ballad straight out of the 1980s, while such tracks as "Discoevil" and "I Am Bigger Than You" sound like direct descendants of Mr. Zombie. But something that any longtime fan of headbanging music will detect, Lordi have a penchant for coming up with tunes that sound just too darn similar to past compositions by other renowned acts, namely the title track that sounds very much like "Stand Up and Shout" by Dio and "This Is Heavy Metal," which sounds akin to Kiss' "War Machine." Also, it's a bit hard to get past such goofball lyrics as "Babez for breakfast, bitches for brunch" (on the title track), and the group's repeated paeans to the glory of rock and metal ("Give Your Life for Rock 'n' Roll," "Loud and Loaded," etc.) -- but you've got to appreciate a song title like "Granny's Gone Crazy." If you're all about the "shock" in shock rock, then Lordi and Babez for Breakfast may do the trick. If you're looking for more of the "rock" in the equation, be prepared to look elsewhere. ~ Greg Prato

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,028
  • UPC: 654436017028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)