Maze Anthology (2-CD)

Anthology (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Maze
21 ratings
Price: $19
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $0.98 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  32J96
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 23, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: The Right Stuff

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.While I'm Alone
  • 2.Lady Of Magic
  • 3.Workin' Together
  • 4.Golden Time Of Day
  • 5.Feel That You're Feelin'
  • 6.Lovely Inspiration
  • 7.Southern Girl
  • 8.Joy And Pain
  • 9.Happy Feelings
  • 10.Reason

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Running Away
  • 2.Before I Get Slow
  • 3.Love Is The Key
  • 4.Never Let You Down
  • 5.I Wanna Thank You
  • 6.Your Own Kind Of Way
  • 7.Back In Stride
  • 8.Too Many Games
  • 9.I Wanna Be With You
  • 10.When You Love Someone

Product Description:

Maze: Frankie Beverly (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Sam Porter (organ, synthesizer, keyboards); Robin Duhe (bass); McKinley "Bug" Williams (percussion, background vocals); Raome Lowry (congas, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Wayne Thomas, Ron Smith (guitar); Philip Woo (Fender Rhodes, synthesizer); Kimo Cornwell, Wayne "Ziggy" Lindsay (keyboards, synthesizer); Billy "Shoes" Johnson, Joe Provost, Ahaguna G. Sun, Michael White (drums).
Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Personnel: Frankie Beverly (vocals, keyboards); Wayne Thomas, Ron Smith (guitar); Philip Woo (Fender Rhodes piano, synthesizer); Sam Porter (organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Wayne Lindsay, Kimo Cornwell (keyboards, synthesizer); Robin Duhe (bass guitar); Billy Johnson, Ahaguna G. Sun, Joe Provost (drums); Raome Lowry (congas, background vocals); McKinley Williams (percussion, background vocals).
Liner Note Author: David Nathan .
Maze have been a fan favorite since the mid-'70s; while they've received little critical notice or adulation except among soul and R&B scribes, Maze have seldom been out of the charts since making their debut on Capitol. Lead singer Frankie Beverly's roots extend back to classic doo wop and East Coast soul; although he made the transition to funk, then urban material, Beverly always had plenty of soul and passion in his vocals. Maze also blazed their own musical trail; when such competitors as Earth, Wind & Fire, the Bar-Kays, Con Funk Shun, and Slave were featuring surging horn sections and jazz-tinged arrangements with heavy basslines, Beverly and company favored rock-influenced guitar parts juxtaposed against soulful organ riffs or synthesizer riffs and just a trace of reggae and/or Latin rhythm. Beverly enjoyed several hits on Capitol, but became unsatisfied with the label's inability to break the group beyond the R&B/funk market. They departed Capitol in the late '80s, and resurfaced on Warner Bros., where they continued making strong, distinctive releases. Anthology gathers the best (at least most of the best) singles the band did for Capitol, among them classics like "Southern Girl," "Before I Let Go," the complete "Joy and Pain," and "Happy Feelin's." British journalist David Nathan's notes are comprehensive, and nicely combine anecdotal and discographical references. ~ Ron Wynn

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,043
  • UPC: 724383588527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)