Fairport Convention Meet on the Ledge: The Classic Years (1967-1975)

Get email alerts for Fairport Convention
15 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  3683X
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 29, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Great American Music


  • 1.Journeyman's Grace
  • 2.Walk Awhile
  • 3.Western Wind
  • 4.The Game Pieces
  • 5.The Wood & The Wire
  • 6.Rosie
  • 7.Theme From Mash (Suicide Is Painless) Medley: End Of A Holiday / Matty Groves / Dirty Linen
  • 8.Don't Leave Too Soon
  • 9.Woodworm Song
  • 10.Claudy Banks
  • 11.They Happyman
  • 12.Meet Me On The Ledge

Product Description:

Fairport Convention includes: Simon Nicol (vocals, acoustic & electric 6 & 12-string guitar, banjo, dulcimer, violin); Dave Swarbrick (vocals, acoustic guitar, dulcimer, mandolin, fiddle, viola, autoharp); Dave Pegg (vocals, acoustic & electric guitar, mandolin, violin, viola, bass); Richard Thompson (vocals, acoustic & electric guitar, electric dulcimer); Jerry Donahue (vocals, acoustic, electric & slide guitar); Sandy Denny (vocals, acoustic guitar, acoustic & electric pianos); Richard Thompson (vocals, acoustic & electric guitar, electric dulcimer); Judy Dyble (vocals, acoustic & electric autoharp, piano); Dave Mattacks (piano, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion); Ashley Hutchings (vocals, bass); Linda Peters (Linda Thompson) (vocals); Martin Lamble (violin, drums, percussion).
Includes liner notes by Patrick Humphries.
Digitally remastered by Chris Herles (PolyGram Studios).
Personnel: Simon Nicol (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Chris Leslie (vocals, mandocello, mandolin, violin, Native American flute); Dave Pegg (vocals, mandolin, acoustic bass, electric bass); Ric Sanders (violin); Gerry Conway (drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Paul Lester.
Recording information: 02/22/2003.
A superlative double-disc set, MEET ON THE LEDGE is the best Fairport Convention compilation, and one of the few that focuses entirely on the ever-shifting band's most musically fruitful period. Although subtitled THE CLASSIC YEARS (1967-1975), the collection largely overlooks the original, semi-psychedelic pop lineup featuring singer Judy Dyble, including only their soaring electric cover of Joni Mitchell's "Chelsea Morning." With track two, Dyble replacement Sandy Denny's ballad "Fotheringay," the group's signature blend of traditional British folk forms and electric rock & roll is already in place, and that combination remains on display through the next 30 tracks. The personnel changes every few songs, with fiddler Dave Swarbrick joining early, and Denny and lead guitarist Richard Thompson (who first revealed his immense songwriting gifts with the haunting title track) eventually leaving, but the soul of Fairport Convention remains constant. The set includes several rarities, but no previously unreleased tracks; those with the augmented CD reissues of the classic albums have the lot, making MEET ON THE LEDGE best for relative newcomers.

Product Info

  • UPC: 708535096528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)