Merle Haggard 20 Greatest Hits

20 Greatest Hits
Get email alerts for Merle Haggard
10+ ratings
List Price: $13.95
You Save: $0.35 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  FA68
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 26, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.Mama Tried
  • 2.Workin' Man Blues
  • 3.Silver Wings
  • 4.Always Wanting You
  • 5.Okie From Muskogee
  • 6.Livin' With The Shades Pulled Down
  • 7.Branded Man
  • 8.Carolyn
  • 9.If We Make It Through December
  • 10.The Fightin' Side Of Me
  • 11.The Bottle Let Me Down
  • 12.House Of Memories
  • 13.Today I Started Loving You Again
  • 14.Daddy Frank
  • 15.Honky Tonk Night Time Man
  • 16.Sing Me Back Home
  • 17.What Have You Got Planned Tonight, Diana
  • 18.I'm A Lonesome Fugitive
  • 19.Mama's Hungry Eyes
  • 20.Old Man From The Mountain

Product Description:

Digitally remastered by Mark Chalecki (Capitol Mastering).
Liner Note Author: Jim Beavers.
Though Capitol Records let much of Merle Haggard's vintage '60s catalog remain unjustly out of print for too long, they began mending their ways in the 21st century with the reissue of those classic titles. Making even further amends is this almost-unassailable compilation, which nearly supplants the CAPITOL COLLECTOR'S SERIES album as THE single-disc Merle anthology to own. Merle's '60s run of hits represents one of the last times in country music that aesthetic and commercial success were working partners.
With Haggard's working-man narratives, Roy Nichols's terse guitar statements, and those inimitably catchy refrains, this stuff is the very definition of the Bakersfield sound that disciples like Dwight Yoakam would build a career imitating. For as many songs about "mama" as you'll hear out of Nashville, none are as honest or as poignant as "Mama Tried." As many drinking songs as you'll find in country music, few can match the quiet drama of "The Bottle Let Me Down." Sure, there are a few key songs missing, such as "Swinging Doors," but you can only fit so much from such a rich catalog onto one disc, and there's certainly no arguing with any of the inclusions.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 22,674
  • UPC: 724353448226
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)