Miles Davis The Complete Birth of the Cool [Blue Note]

The Complete Birth of the Cool [Blue Note]
Get email alerts for Miles Davis
27 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $10.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $5 (31% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 94550
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 19, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Move
  • 2.Jeru
  • 3.Moon Dreams
  • 4.Venus De Milo
  • 5.Budo
  • 6.Deception
  • 7.Godchild
  • 8.Boplicity
  • 9.Rocker
  • 10.Israel
  • 11.Rouge
  • 12.Darn That Dream
  • 13.Birth Of The Cool Theme
  • 14.Symphony Sid Announces The Band
  • 15.Move
  • 16.Why Do I Love You
  • 17.Godchild
  • 18.Symphony Sid Introduction
  • 19.S'il Vous Plait
  • 20.Moon Dreams
  • 21.Budo
  • 22.Darn That Dream
  • 23.Move
  • 24.Moon Dreams
  • 25.Budo

Product Description:

THE COMPLETE BIRTH OF THE COOL contains all the original tracks from BIRTH OF THE COOL plus 13 previously unreleased live versions of those tracks.
Personnel on studio tracks: Miles Davis (trumpet); Kenny Hagood (vocals); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); J.J. Johnson, Kai Winding (trombone); Junior Collins, Sandy Siegelstein, Gunther Schuller (French horn); Bill Barber (tuba); John Lewis, Al Haig (piano); Al McKibbon, Joe Shulman, Nelson Boyd (acoustic bass); Kenny Clarke, Max Roach (drums).
Personnel on live tracks: Miles Davis (trumpet); Kenny Hagood (vocals); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Mike Zwerin (trombone); Junior Collins (French horn); Bill Barber (tuba); John Lewis (piano); Al McKibbon (bass); Max Roach (drums).
Studio sessions producer: Pete Rugolo.
Reissue producers: Mark Levinson, Phil Schaap, Michael Cuscuna.
Live tracks recorded at the Royal Roost, New York, New York on September 4 and 18, 1948. Studio tracks recorded in New York, New York on January 21 and April 22, 1949 and March 9, 1950. Includes liner notes by Mike Zwerin, Phil Schaap, Pete Welding and Gerry Mulligan.
Studio sessions were digitally remastered by Mark Levinson. Live sessions were digitally remastered by Phil Schaap.
Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Kenny "Pancho" Hagood (vocals); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Gerry Mulligan (baritone saxophone); Gunther Schuller , Junior Collins, Sandy Siegelstein (French horn); J.J. Johnson , Mike Zwerin, Kai Winding (trombone); Billy Barber (tuba); John Lewis, Al Haig (piano); Kenny Clarke, Max Roach (drums).
Audio Remasterers: Mark Levinson; Phil Schaap.
Liner Note Authors: Gerry Mulligan; Mike Zwerin; Pete Welding; Phil Schaap.
Recording information: The Royal Roost (09/25/1948-03/09/1950).
Editor: Kurt Lundvall.
Photographers: Francis Wolff; Aram Avakian.
Arrangers: John Lewis; Gerry Mulligan; Gil Evans; Johnny Carisi.
Miles Davis' classic masterpiece THE BIRTH OF THE COOL, long available in it's original form, has been given a facelift. THE COMPLETE BIRTH OF THE COOL is a landmark collection that simply must be included in any true jazz aficionado's library. Not only have the original twelve sides by this legendary group been expertly restored, but the long awaited live radio cuts from their only real gig have been found and included. Together they form an indispensable documentation of the group that almost single-handedly transformed the bebop of the '40s into the "cool" jazz that became a West Coast sensation in the early '50s.
The original BIRTH OF COOL sides are in beautiful shape now that they have been remastered by Mark Levinson with his ultra-pristine Cello system. The new live cuts, recorded at the Royal Roost in 1948 as they were broadcast by WMCA, are a collector's dream. Hosted by famed jazz disc jockey Symphony Sid (who also provides introductions and announcements), the band sounds masterful and energetic despite the less-than-studio quality of the original recording. A few titles ("Move," "Moon Dreams," and "Budo") even appear twice in the set as a bonus.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 74,069
  • UPC: 724349455023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)