The Band Moondog Matinee

Entertainment Weekly: "...Their sweet homage to vintage soul..." - Rating: B+
Moondog Matinee
Get email alerts for The Band
25 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $4 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 53932
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 8, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 5/25/01, p.81
"...Their sweet homage to vintage soul..." - Rating: B+
Down Beat - 10/01, p.66
3 stars out of 5 - "A labor of love with the usual suspects revising r&b songs from the 50s and 60s..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 6/01, p.123
"...Audibly a classic, it is the last true romantic gasp of Richard Manuel's soulful emotive wail..."


  • 1.Ain't Got No Home
  • 2.Holy Cow
  • 3.Share Your Love With Me
  • 4.Mystery Train
  • 5.The Third Man Theme
  • 6.The Promised Land
  • 7.The Great Pretender
  • 8.I'm Ready
  • 9.Saved
  • 10.Change Is Gonna Come
  • 11.Didn't It Rain
  • 12.Crying Heart Blues
  • 13.Shakin'
  • 14.What Am I Living For
  • 15.Going Back To Memphis
  • 16.Endless Highway

Product Description:

The Band: Rick Danko (bass instrument); Garth Hudson, Levon Helm, Richard Manuel, Robbie Robertson.
Personnel: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Levon Helm (vocals, guitar, drums); Rick Danko (vocals, violin); Richard Manuel (vocals, keyboards, drums); Ben Keith (steel guitar); Garth Hudson (saxophone, keyboards).
Audio Mixers: Mark Harman; Andrew Sandoval.
Liner Note Authors: Chris Morris; Rob Bowman.
Recording information: Bearsville Sound Studios, Bearsville, NY (1971); Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA (1971); New York, NY (1971).
Photographer: Bob Gruen.
The Band started their career with two stunningly perfect albums in '68 and '69 (MUSIC FROM BIG PINK and THE BAND, respectively). An edgy comment on their newfound fame, STAGE FRIGHT, came in '70. Then an album of scattered focus (CAHOOTS) and a brilliant live retrospective (ROCK OF AGES) followed over the next two years. Whether or not the well of new material was running dry, The Band wisely chose to take some of the pressure off by revisiting their days as The Hawks for this 1973 set of covers.
From the Levon Helm-sung "Ain't Got No Home" (the Clarence "Frogman" Henry song) which opens the set, to the soaring Richard Manuel vocal on Sam Cooke's "A Change Is Gonna Come," everything and everybody shines here. Robbie Robertson's sassy riffing on "Mystery Train," Garth Hudson's oozing and undulating organ beds, and that always- perfect rhythm section--this is a brilliant display of great interpretive skills wedded to great songs. This album of covers set a standard to which other similar projects are always compared.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,215
  • UPC: 724352539321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)