The Band Islands

Get email alerts for The Band
19 ratings
Sale: $12.59
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $2.87 (21% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32KQ5
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 7, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Capitol

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 5/25/01, p.81
"...A collection of loose ends...containing patches of heartbreaking melancholy..." - Rating: B


  • 1.Right As Rain
  • 2.Street Walker
  • 3.Let The Night Fall
  • 4.Ain't That A Lot Of Love
  • 5.Christmas Must Be Tonight
  • 6.Islands
  • 7.The Saga Of Pepote Rouge
  • 8.Georgia On My Mind
  • 9.Knockin' Lost John
  • 10.Livin' In A Dream
  • 11.Twilight
  • 12.Georgia On My Mind

Product Description:

The Band: Richard Manuel, Rick Danko, Robbie Robertson, Garth Hudson, Levon Helm.
Additional personnel: Larry Packard (violin); Tom Malone, Jim Gordon, John Simon (horns).
Engineers include: Rob Fraboni, Nat Jeffreys, Neil Brody.
Originally released on Capitol. Includes liner notes by Chris Morris.
Digitally remastered by Larry Walsh (August 1990, Capitol Recording Studios).
Personnel: Robbie Robertson (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Levon Helm (vocals, guitar, drums); Rick Danko (vocals, violin); Richard Manuel (vocals, keyboards, drums); Larry Packard, Larry Packer (violin); Garth Hudson (saxophone, horns, keyboards); John Simon (horns, keyboards); Jim Gordon , Tom "Bones" Malone (horns).
Liner Note Authors: Christopher Morris; Rob Bowman.
Recording information: Shangri-la Studios (12/1972-01/1977); Village Recorders, Los Angeles, CA (12/1972-01/1977).
When The Band announced their retirement from touring, it was with the important addendum that they'd continue to record together. In actuality, the only album that subsequently emerged was ISLANDS, which also served to finish out the band's contract with Capitol Records. At the time of its release in 1977, it was received with some dismay by fans anxious for a repeat of the powerful NORTHERN LIGHTS SOUTHERN CROSS of two years previous. With the passing of time having removed the pressures of those expectations, ISLANDS can be heard as an album that, while fragmented, includes some fine gems. The musicianship throughout is never less than compelling. Richard Manuel's vocal on "Georgia On My Mind" is alone worth the price of admission--he sings it as if the thousand other classic versions never existed.
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,100
  • UPC: 724352539222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)