COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Bruce Springsteen The Essential Bruce Springsteen (2-CD)

Q: 4 stars out of 5 - "[I]ncontestably the heart of a mighty legacy."
Get email alerts for Bruce Springsteen
MASSIVE CD SALE: $14.80 Limited Time Only
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  696WS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 16, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2015
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 11/21/03, p.86
"...The collectible [third] [even] more rewarding than the '98 outtakes box, TRACKS....disc 3 is as engaging a ride as any through Springsteen's '80s peaks, '90s valleys, and current rebirth." - Rating: A-
Q - 1/04, p.148
4 stars out of 5 - "[I]ncontestably the heart of a mighty legacy."
Uncut - 1/04, p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "When he gets quiet, gets home after crowded nights and faces solitary dawns, he's an extraordinary artist with a spooky, magical gift."s
Mojo (Publisher) - 12/03, p.128
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is as good a Springsteen 'best of' as you're likely to get."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Growin' Up
  • 2.Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  • 3.4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
  • 4.Thunder Road
  • 5.Born to Run
  • 6.Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
  • 7.Badlands
  • 8.The Promised Land
  • 9.Prove It All Night
  • 10.The River
  • 11.Hungry Heart
  • 12.The Ties That Bind
  • 13.Out In the Street
  • 14.Atlantic City
  • 15.Johnny 99
  • 16.Glory Days
  • 17.Born In the U.S.A.
  • 18.Dancing In the Dark

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tougher Than the Rest
  • 2.Brilliant Disguise
  • 3.One Step Up
  • 4.Human Touch
  • 5.Better Days
  • 6.If I Should Fall Behind
  • 7.Streets of Philadelphia
  • 8.Murder Incorporated
  • 9.The Ghost of Tom Joad
  • 10.The Rising
  • 11.Lonesome Day
  • 12.Devils & Dust
  • 13.Long Time Comin'
  • 14.Radio Nowhere
  • 15.Working On a Dream
  • 16.My Lucky Day
  • 17.The Wrestler
  • 18.We Take Care of Our Own
  • 19.Hunter of Invisible Game

Product Description:

Initial pressings included a limited edition bonus disc featuring previously unreleased studios and live performances.
Personnel includes: Bruce Springsteen (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin, harmonica, recorder, bass); Patti Scialfa (vocals, guitar); Nils Lofgren (guitar, slide guitar, dobro, banjo, background vocals); Steve Van Zandt (guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Danny Frederici (accordion, piano, organ, Farfisa organ, glockenspiel, background vocals); Clarence Clemons (saxophone, percussion, background vocals); Garry Tallent (tuba, bass, background vocals); Roy Bittan (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, pump organ, keyboards, synthesizer, glockenspiel, background vocals); David Sancious (piano, electric piano, organ, Clavinet); Max Weinberg (drums, background vocals); Soozie Tyrell (background vocals).
Producers includes: Bruce Springsteen, Mike Appel, Jon Landau, Chuck Plotkin, Steve Van Zandt.
Recorded between 1973 & 2002.
Audio Remasterer: Bob Ludwig.
Photographers: Frank Stefanko; Eric Meola; Neal Preston; Tim White ; Danny Clinch.
If you're looking for a definitive Bruce Springsteen collection, search no further. THE ESSENTIAL BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN covers every phase of the Boss's career, from the Dylan-inspired absurdist folk-rock of his 1973 debut, through the Brando-with-a-Telecaster pathos of DARKNESS ON THE EDGE OF TOWN, to the Spectorian grandeur of BORN TO RUN and the stark, existential folk of NEBRASKA. And that's just the first disc! The second goes on to document Springsteen's superstar period with cuts from the epochal BORN IN THE USA and the moody, stripped-down TUNNEL OF LOVE, on through his post-9/11 mission statement, THE RISING.
For hardcore fans that already own everything on the first two CDs, there's a bonus disc of rarities--none of which appeared on the prolific songwriter's rarities box set, TRACKS. The brightest spots of disc three are easily the equal of Springsteen's best-known material. Bruce's own version of "From Small Things" (covered successfully by Dave Edmunds), a furious live version of the working man's lament "Held Up Without a Gun," and the gorgeously evanescent "County Fair" are worth the price of admission all by themselves. True to its promise, this collection perfectly captures the essence of the gifted Jersey boy's magic.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 22,083
  • UPC: 888751417328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)