Jaco Pastorius Invitation (Live)

Invitation (Live)
Get email alerts for Jaco Pastorius
9 ratings
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
sku:  AXD7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 13, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Warner Bros Uk


  • 1.Invitation
  • 2.Amerika
  • 3.Soul Intro / The Chicken
  • 4.Continuum
  • 5.Liberty City
  • 6.Sophisticated Lady
  • 7.Reza / Giant Steps / Reza (Reprise)
  • 8.Fannie Mae
  • 9.Eleven

Product Description:

Personnel: Mario Cruz (alto flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Randy Emerick (alto flute, clarinet, baritone saxophone); Alex Foster (piccolo, clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Toots Thielemans (harmonica); Paul McCandless (oboe, English horn, tenor saxophone); Bob Mintzer (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Elmer Brown, Forrest Buchtel, Jon Faddis, Randy Brecker, Ron Tooley (trumpet); Peter Gordon , Brad Warnaar (French horn); David Bargeron (trombone, tuba); Wayne Andre (trombone); Peter Graves , William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. (bass trombone); Peter Erskine (drums, gong); Othello Molineaux (steel drum); Don Alias (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Mike Chadwick.
Arranger: Jaco Pastorius.
Electric bassist Jaco Pastorius' Word of Mouth big band made two recordings for Warner Bros. during its short life, of which is this is the superior one. The large ensemble (five trumpets including Randy Brecker, five reeds with solo space for Bobby Mintzer on tenor and soprano, four trombones, two French horns, Toots Thielemans on harmonica, drummer Peter Erskine, percussionist Don Alias, and Othello on steel drum) performs a variety of superior material. Although Pastorius takes his share of solo space, and the sound of a big band backing a bass soloist is rather unusual, he does not excessively dominate the music. Pastorius contributed some of the pieces (most notably "Liberty City"), is showcased on "Amerika," and also plays such tunes as "Invitation," "The Chicken," "Sophisticated Lady," "Giant Steps," and Gil Evans' "Eleven." ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 111,488
  • UPC: 093624790921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)