The Rolling Stones Now! (Remastered)

Rolling Stone: Ranked #181 in Rolling Stone's "The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time"
Get email alerts for The Rolling Stones
46 ratings
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.38 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 8 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  354QS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 27, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: ABKCO

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.136
Ranked #181 in Rolling Stone's "The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time"
NME (Magazine) - 7/8/95, p.46
6 (out of 10) - "...The Stones of '64 and '65 may not have been the world's most accomplished musicians, but they were lean and hungry. There's a lippy arrogance that's best illustrated on ROLLING STONES NOW!, in particular the pasty-faced soul of 'Pain In My Heart' and the R&B plod of 'Off The Hook'..."


  • 1.Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
  • 2.Down Home Girl
  • 3.You Can't Catch Me
  • 4.Heart Of Stone
  • 5.What A Shame
  • 6.Mona (I Need You Baby)
  • 7.Down The Road A Piece
  • 8.Off The Hook
  • 9.Pain In My Heart
  • 10.Oh Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin')
  • 11.Little Red Rooster
  • 12.Surprise, Surprise

Product Description:

The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger (vocals, harmonica); Keith Richards (guitar, background vocals); Brian Jones (guitar, harmonica); Bill Wyman (bass); Charlie Watts (drums).
Additional personnel: Ian Stewart (piano, organ); Jack Nitzsche (piano).
Recorded at Chess Studios, Chicago, Illinois; RCA Studios, Hollywood, California; Regent Sound, London, England. Includes liner notes by Andrew Loog Oldham.
Additional personnel: Ian Stewart , Jack Nitzsche (piano).
Audio Remasterers: Jon Astley; Bob Ludwig; Steve Rosenthal; Teri Landi; Paschal Byrne.
THE ROLLING STONES, NOW! is a masterpiece of early British R&B, Rolling Stones style. Things start off with a powerful rendition of Solomon Burke's signature tune "Everybody Needs Somebody To Love." Elsewhere, the Stones take a tour of American music, from Bo Diddley's "Mona," complete with choppy, reverbed guitar, to a slow, churning version of Willie Dixon's blues evergreen "Little Red Rooster," probably the first version of the song to feature fuzz bass.
Amid all this esteemed company, though, the standout tracks are the Jagger-Richards originals. With its heartbreaking lyrics and poignant accompaniment, "Heart of Stone" could have been a classic soul ballad appropriated from some great, obscure American singer. On "What a Shame," the Stones prove that they don't have to look to outside sources for their blues. Keith's penetrating slide here, as on "Little Red Rooster," foreshadows greater things to come.
ABKCO Music & Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 53,206
  • UPC: 018771942023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)