The House of Love Burn Down the World (8-CD)

Get email alerts for The House of Love
TOP 25 Bestselling CD
Price: $64
List Price: $69.99
You Save: $5.99 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (8 Discs)
item number:  7W6WK
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 29, 2022
  • Originally Released: 2022
  • Label: Cherry Red

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Hannah
  • 2.Shine On
  • 3.Beatles and the Stones
  • 4.Shake and Crawl
  • 5.Hedonist
  • 6.I Don't Know Why I Love You
  • 7.Never
  • 8.Someone's Got to Love You
  • 9.In a Room
  • 10.Blind
  • 11.32nd Floor
  • 12.Se Dest
  • 13.Never [Chocolate Factory Demo]
  • 14.Beatles and the Stones [Chocolate Factory Demo]
  • 15.In a Room [Chocolate Factory Demo]
  • 16.Se Dest [Chocolate Factory Demo]
  • 17.Someone's Got to Love You [Chocolate Factory Demo]
  • 18.Waiting in Water [Chocolate Factory Demo]
  • 19.Man to Child [Live]
  • 20.Nothing to Me [Live]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Don't Understand
  • 2.Crush Me
  • 3.Cruel
  • 4.High in Your Face
  • 5.Fade Away
  • 6.Feel
  • 7.The Girl With the Loneliest Eyes
  • 8.Burn Down the World
  • 9.Philly Phile
  • 10.Yer Eyes
  • 11.Burn Down the World [Eel Pie Reference Mix] - (remix)
  • 12.Cruel [Eel Pie Extended Reference Mix] - (remix)
  • 13.Feel [Eel Pie Extended Reference Mix] - (remix)
  • 14.Yer Eyes [Eel Pie Reference Mix] - (remix)
  • 15.Crush Me [Demo]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sweet Anatomy
  • 2.Audience With the Mind
  • 3.Haloes
  • 4.Erosion
  • 5.Call Me
  • 6.Shining On
  • 7.Portrait in Atlanta
  • 8.Corridors
  • 9.Hollow
  • 10.All Night Long
  • 11.Into the Tunnel
  • 12.You've Got to Feel
  • 13.Train Song
  • 14.Into the Tunnel [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Safe
  • 2.Marble
  • 3.D Song '89
  • 4.Scratched Inside
  • 5.Phone
  • 6.Cut the Fool Down 7 Ray
  • 7.Ray
  • 8.Love II
  • 9.Baby Teen
  • 10.Love III
  • 11.Soft as Fire
  • 12.Love IV
  • 13.No Fire
  • 14.Love V
  • 15.Shake and Crawl [Demo Version 2]
  • 16.No Fire [Demo]
  • 17.Hannah [Demo]
  • 18.Destroy the Heart [Live 1989]
  • 19.Christine [Live 1989]
  • 20.Man to Child [Live 1989]

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.No Fire [Promo Mix] - (remix)
  • 2.Safe
  • 3.Secrets
  • 4.I Can't Stand It
  • 5.Clothes
  • 6.Rouge
  • 7.Phone [Acoustic Mix] - (remix)
  • 8.Scratched Inside [Mix] - (remix)
  • 9.Marble [Mix] - (remix)
  • 10.Never [12" Version]
  • 11.The Spy
  • 12.I Don't Know Why I Love You [7" Version]
  • 13.Rosalyn
  • 14.Allergy
  • 15.Glorify Me
  • 16.Beatles and the Stones [Single Mix] - (remix)
  • 17.Purple Killer Rose
  • 18.Tea in the Sun
  • 19.Pink Frost
  • 20.Let's Talk About You

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.It's All Too Much
  • 2.Strange Brew
  • 3.Sweet Anatomy [Alternate Version] - (alternate take)
  • 4.Kiss the Fountain
  • 5.Third Generation Liquid Song
  • 6.The Last Edition of Love
  • 7.Love 10
  • 8.Skin 2 Phase 2
  • 9.Shine On [Acoustic Version]
  • 10.Hope [Acoustic Version]
  • 11.Hannah [Acoustic Version]
  • 12.I Don't Know Why I Love You [Acoustic Version]
  • 13.Crush Me [Acoustic Version]
  • 14.The Girl With the Loneliest Eyes [Acoustic Version]
  • 15.Phillyphile [Acoustic Version]
  • 16.Fade Away [Acoustic Version]
  • 17.Baby Teen [Radio Edit]
  • 18.I Don't Know Why I Love You [7" Drip of Rockman Mix] - (remix)
  • 19.Who by Fire
  • 20.Rock Your Baby
  • 21.Fall in Love With Me

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Hannah
  • 2.I Don't Know Why I Love You
  • 3.In a Room
  • 4.Beatles and the Stones
  • 5.Nothing to Me
  • 6.Road
  • 7.Plastic
  • 8.Love in a Car
  • 9.Se Dest
  • 10.Never
  • 11.Hope
  • 12.Salome
  • 13.Shine On
  • 14.Christine
  • 15.Man to Child
  • 16.Destroy the Heart
  • 17.I Can't Stand It

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.Phone [Live in London]
  • 2.Hannah [Live in London]
  • 3.Love 2 [Live in London]
  • 4.High in Your Face [Live in New York]
  • 5.You Don't Understand [Live in New York]
  • 6.Burn Down the World [Live in New York]
  • 7.Christine [Live in New York]
  • 8.Feel [Live in New York]
  • 9.Hannah [Live in New York]
  • 10.Shine On [Live in New York]
  • 11.The Girl With the Loneliest Eyes [Live in New York]
  • 12.Cruel [Live in New York]
  • 13.I Don't Know Why I Love You [Live in New York]

Product Description:

The House of Love recorded two excellent albums for Creation in the late '80s that fused dark melodies with coruscating guitars topped majestically by Guy Chadwick's cold and often forbidding vocals. They were popular enough that the band was courted by major labels; they signed with Fontana in 1989 and stayed with them until their first breakup in 1993. Burn Down the World covers this era in minute detail and includes the three albums they recorded during that time span (1990's The House of Love, 1992's Babe Rainbow, and 1993's Audience with the Mind) along with three full discs of non-LP songs and two discs made up of live performances. The three albums are combined with bonus tracks, too, mainly demos that show a different, less-produced side of the band. It gives fans a chance to compare the full, slightly overblown production they were sometimes saddled with to the stripped-back style that allows the songs to breathe a little bit more. The live takes also reveal some of the power and bite that were often paved over by producers who were overly reliant on effects and atmosphere. The live recordings are all well-chosen, with excellent sound quality and fine, often fiery performances. The acoustic shows are especially nice to hear as Chadwick and co. benefit in more relaxed surroundings than a listener accustomed to their studio albums might expect. The three discs of B-sides, EP tracks, different mixes, and demos -- each titled A Spy in the House of Love -- serve as clearing houses for their prolific output, and show off both kinds of songs (songs that were good enough to have made the cut on an album, and songs that could be filed away as [usually] noble experiments). It's a lot of fun wading through these and adding them up. The good songs far outweigh the bad, and there are some hidden gems to be discovered. The band's loping take on the Chills' "Pink Frost" is lovely; the 1989 B-side "Safe" is one of their most dramatic and involving songs; 1992's "Love 10" is a gentle dream of a tune that amply displays the group's softer side, and "Let's Talk About You" is a wonderfully relaxed country-psych-meets-baggy ballad. Burn Down the World might not change the opinion of those who feel House of Love may have been better served staying with Creation (a label which can call Chadwick an associate), but it does show that the group wasn't completely chewed up and spit out by the major-label machine. The House of Love remains a big pop classic and the rest of this well-compiled set reveals quite a lot of music that's nearly as good. ~ Tim Sendra

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13
  • UPC: 5013929112698
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 8 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)