Lesley Gore It's My Party! [Box Set] (5-CD)

Get email alerts for Lesley Gore
13 ratings
Price: $145
List Price: $159.99
You Save: $14.99 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
item number:  3665W
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: June 1, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Hello Young Lover
  • 2.Something Wonderful
  • 3.It's My Party
  • 4.Danny
  • 5.The Party's Over
  • 6.Judy's Turn to Cry
  • 7.Just Let Me Cry
  • 8.Misty
  • 9.Cry Me a River
  • 10.I Would
  • 11.No More Tears
  • 12.Cry and You Cry Alone
  • 13.I Understand
  • 14.Cry
  • 15.Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows
  • 16.What Kind of Fool Am I?
  • 17.If That's the Way You Want It
  • 18.She's a Fool
  • 19.I'll Make It up to You
  • 20.The Old Crowd
  • 21.I Struck a Match
  • 22.Consolation Prize
  • 23.Run Bobby Run
  • 24.Young and Foolish
  • 25.Fools Rush in (Where Angels Fear to Tread)
  • 26.My Foolish Heart
  • 27.That's the Way the Ball Bounces
  • 28.After He Takes Me Home - (1. voice)
  • 29.After He Takes Me Home - (2. voices)
  • 30.You Don't Own Me - (mono)
  • 31.You Don't Own Me - (stereo)
  • 32.Time to Go
  • 33.You Name It

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.That's the Way the Boys Are
  • 2.Boys
  • 3.I'm Coolin', No Foolin'
  • 4.Don't Deny It
  • 5.I Don't Wanna Be a Loser
  • 6.It's Gotta Be You
  • 7.Leave Me Alone
  • 8.Don't Call Me
  • 9.The Look of Love
  • 10.The Look of Love
  • 11.Wonder Boy
  • 12.Secret Love
  • 13.Maybe I Know
  • 14.Live and Learn
  • 15.Sometimes I Wish I Were a Boy
  • 16.Hey! Now
  • 17.I Died Inside
  • 18.Movin' Away
  • 19.It's Just About That Time
  • 20.Little Girl Go Home
  • 21.Say Goodbye
  • 22.You've Come Back
  • 23.I Just Don't Know If I Can
  • 24.That's the Boy
  • 25.All of My Life
  • 26.What's a Girl Supposed to Do
  • 27.Before and After
  • 28.I Cannot Hope For Anyone
  • 29.I Don't Care
  • 30.You Didn't Look Aroun

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Baby That's Me
  • 2.No Matter What You Do
  • 3.Sunshine and Lollipops
  • 4.What Am I Gonna Do With You
  • 5.It's All in the Game
  • 6.Love Look Away
  • 7.Let It Be Me
  • 8.When Sunny Gets Blue
  • 9.What Am I Gonna Do With You
  • 10.A Girl in Love
  • 11.Just Another Fool
  • 12.My Town, My Guy and Me
  • 13.Let Me Dream
  • 14.The Things We Did Last Summer
  • 15.Start the Party Again
  • 16.I Can Tell
  • 17.I Won't Love You Anymore (Sorry)
  • 18.I Just Can't Get Enough of You
  • 19.Only Last Night
  • 20.Any Other Girl
  • 21.I Can Tell
  • 22.To Know Him Is to Love Him
  • 23.Young Love
  • 24.Too Young
  • 25.Will You Love Me Tomorrow
  • 26.We Know We're in Love
  • 27.Yeah Yeah Yeah That Boy of Mine
  • 28.That's What I'll Do
  • 29.Lilacs and Violets
  • 30.Off and Running
  • 31.Happiness Is Just Around the Corner

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Hold Me Tight
  • 2.Cry Like a Baby
  • 3.Treat Me Like a Lady
  • 4.Maybe Now
  • 5.The Bubble Broke
  • 6.California Nights
  • 7.I'm Going Out the Same Way I Came In
  • 8.Bad
  • 9.Love Goes on Forever
  • 10.Summer and Sandy
  • 11.I'm Fallin' Down
  • 12.Brink of Disaster
  • 13.On a Day Like Today
  • 14.Where Can I Go
  • 15.You Sent Me Silver Bells
  • 16.I'm Fallin' Down
  • 17.He Won't See the Light
  • 18.Magic Colors
  • 19.How Can I Be Sure
  • 20.To Sir With Love
  • 21.It's a Happening World
  • 22.Small Talk
  • 23.Say What You See
  • 24.He Gives Me Love (La la la)
  • 25.Brand New Me
  • 26.I Can't Make It Without You
  • 27.Look the Other Way
  • 28.Take Good Care (Of My Heart)
  • 29.I'll Be Standing By

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Ride a Tall White Horse
  • 2.98.6 / Lazy Day
  • 3.Summer Symphony
  • 4.All Cried Out
  • 5.One by One
  • 6.Wedding Bell Blues
  • 7.Got to Get You Into My Life
  • 8.Goodbye Tony
  • 9.Musikant
  • 10.So Sind Die Boys Alle
  • 11.Nur du Ganz Allein
  • 12.Hab Ich das Verdient
  • 13.Der Erste Tanz
  • 14.Little Little Liebling
  • 15.Sieben Girls
  • 16.Tu T'en Vas
  • 17.Je Ne Sais Plus
  • 18.Je N'Ose Pas
  • 19.Si Ton Coer le Desire
  • 20.Je Sais Qu'un Jour
  • 21.C'Est Trop Tard
  • 22.Eh! Non
  • 23.Te Voila
  • 24.Judy's Turn to Cry
  • 25.You Don't Own Me

Product Description:

Not to be confused with the double-CD compilation of the same title, this five-CD set contains everything that Lesley Gore cut for Mercury Records between 1963 and 1969. Gore's first single, "It's My Party," doesn't resemble the less distinctive songs from that same session; but once she had "It's My Party" down, Gore never looked back. Whether covering standards, helping put neophyte songwriter Marvin Hamlisch on the map, or adding to Carole King and Gerry Goffin's string of successes, Gore and her producers put a special stamp on everything that followed -- her enunciation was as distinctive as the sound of her voice. It's difficult to pick high points from Disc Two, the prime of Gore's career, when she was starting to sound like a woman rather than a girl. Disc Three shows her doing more mature songs with a very different, more assertive sound, courtesy of producer Jack Nitzsche. All of the Nitzsche sessions have a peculiarly soulful feel that was new to Gore's output; the Shelby Singleton sessions make up most of the second half of the disc. Alas, Gore did no recording at all in 1966, partly due to her desire to complete her education, and the lapse shows in this set -- when she re-emerged in 1967, she lost a little bit of immediacy, as well as lots of relevance. The material from Disc Four covers this tail end of Gore's commercial career, including her last big hit, "California Nights," as well as a handful of unreleased tracks from the never-issued Magic Colors album. The opening of Disc Five shows Gore moving into a more sophisticated pop-rock mode, close to what Carole King would succeed with a couple of years later. Unfortunately, nobody was listening to Gore by this time, and her performing career came to a halt with the end of the 1960s. The major part of this last disc is given over to Gore's foreign-language recordings of her own hits. The box comes complete with a nicely illustrated and annotated booklet, with an engaging essay that suffers from a few gaps in the narrative of her career. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,140
  • UPC: 4000127157423
  • Shipping Weight: 2.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)