Get email alerts for The Kalin Twins
8 ratings
Sale: $22.49
WINTER SALE: $20.91 Limited Time Only
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $4.08 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
sku:  3665D
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.When
  • 2.Three O'Clock Thrill
  • 3.Jumpin' Jack
  • 4.Walkin' to School
  • 5.The Spider and the Fly
  • 6.Forget Me Not
  • 7.Dream of Me
  • 8.Oh! My Goodness
  • 9.Chicken Thief
  • 10.It's Only the Beginning
  • 11.Clickety Clack
  • 12.Sweet Sugar Lips
  • 13.Moody
  • 14.A Picture of You
  • 15.You Mean the World to Me
  • 16.School Bell Dream
  • 17.When I Look in the Mirror
  • 18.I'm Gonna Knock on Your Door
  • 19.Little Miss Blue
  • 20.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 21.Make Love to Me
  • 22.Sail Along, Silvery Moon
  • 23.True Love
  • 24.Tonight You Belong to Me
  • 25.Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart
  • 26.Momma Poppa
  • 27.No Money Can Buy
  • 28.Bubbles
  • 29.One More Time
  • 30.It's Just Terrible

Product Description:

Personnel: Dorothy Ann Dillard, Harold Kalin, Herbie Kalin, Louis Dean Nunley (vocals); Grady Martin, Hank Garland, Harold Bradley, Ray Edenton, Boudleaux Bryant (guitar); Dana King (French horn); Floyd Cramer (piano); Buddy Harman (drums).
Audio Mixer: John Strother.
Liner Note Author: Jimmy Guterman.
Illustrators: R.A. Andreas; The Kalin Twins.
Photographers: R.A. Andreas; The Kalin Twins.
Unknown Contributor Role: Hank Garland.
For once, Bear Family Records has compromised on a retrospective -- the Kalin Twins left behind 38 songs, but only 30 of them are here, obviously to hold this to a single disc. Some of the stuff not present includes their covers of Gene Pitney's "Loneliness" and Jackie DeShannon's "Trouble," but there's some fascinating material in its place -- the unreleased 1960 vintage "Make Love to Me" was a sincere attempt to give the duo a more mature sound, and their never-before-issued version of "Bye Bye Blackbird" has a surprise or two. "When" is the best-known song here, and it's surrounded by some pleasant, lively teen pop ("Bubbles," "Schoolbell Dream"), but the country-rocker "Picture of You" is also very worthwhile. And "It's Only the Beginning" is one of the most unabashedly beautiful and achingly romantic pieces of pop/rock of the period that one is likely ever to hear. Some of this is too sappy for words ("True Love"), but it's still enjoyable overall. The order of the material is a bit haphazard, skipping around between years and sessions, but that can be fixed with some player programming. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 43,689
  • UPC: 4000127155979
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)