Tower of Power Urban Renewal

Urban Renewal
Get email alerts for Tower of Power
28 ratings
WINTER SALE: $11.12 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.87 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  32VH6
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA


  • 1.Only So Much Oil In The Ground
  • 2.Come Back, Baby
  • 3.It's Not The Crime
  • 4.I Won't Leave Unless You Want Me To
  • 5.Maybe It'll Rub Off
  • 6.You're The Most, (To Say The Least)
  • 7.Willing To Learn
  • 8.Give Me The Proof
  • 9.It Can Never Be The Same
  • 10.I Believe In Myself
  • 11.Walkin' Up Hip Street

Product Description:

Tower Of Power: Lenny Williams (vocals); Bruce Conte (guitar, background vocals); Lenny Pickett (alto flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano, alto & tenor saxophones); Emilio Castillo (tenor saxophone, background vocals); Stephen Kupka (baritone saxophone); Greg Adams (trumpet, flugelhorn); Mic Gillette (trumpet, trombone, background vocals); Chester Thompson (piano, Clavinet, organ, ARP synthesizer, background vocals); Francis Rocco Prestia (bass); David Bartlett (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: David Garibaldi (drums); Carter Collins (congas).
Recorded at Record Plant, Sausalito, California.
Personnel: Bruce Conte (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Emilio Castillo (vocals, tenor saxophone, background vocals); Mic Gillette (vocals, trumpet, trombone, background vocals); Chester Thompson (vocals, piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer, background vocals); David Bartlett (vocals, drums); Lenny Williams (vocals); Lenny Pickett (alto flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Stephen Kupka (baritone saxophone); Greg Adams (trumpet, flugelhorn); David Garibaldi (drums); Carter Collins (congas); Pepper Watkins, Bootche Anderson, Marilyn Scott (background vocals).
Recording information: The Record Plant, Sausalito, CA.
Photographer: Bruce Steinberg.
Arrangers: Greg Adams ; Chester Thompson .
In the early '70s, Tower Of Power was riding the crest of the funky R&B horn-band wave it had been instrumental in creating a few years earlier. 1974's URBAN RENEWAL is a solid testament to the group's endless creativity in delivering intense funk one minute, and sliding into a slippery soul ballad the next, with the occasional insertion of socially conscious lyrics.
The world-famous horn section is in excellent form, featuring founders Emilio Castillo and Stephen "Doc" Kupka, with legendary members Mic Gillete, Greg Adams, and Lenny Pickett. Handling the majority of the vocals this time out is the exceptional Lenny Williams, arguably Tower Of Power's most suitable vocalist. Although original drummer David Garibaldi appears on one track, David Bartlett handles the drum duties here, locking expertly with the masterful bassist Francis Rocco Prestia. Highlights include the thoughtful opener "Only So Much Oil in the Ground," the ridiculously funky numbers "Maybe It'll Rub Off," and "(To Say the Least) You're The Most," and the popular ballad "Willing to Learn."

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,770
  • UPC: 075992634922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)