Van Halen 5150

Kerrang (Magazine): "[T]he band's first album with Sammy Hagar marked the beginning of a distinctly saner, more melodic direction."
Get email alerts for Van Halen
176 ratings
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 25394
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 24, 1986
  • Originally Released: 1986
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Kerrang (Magazine) - p.52
"[T]he band's first album with Sammy Hagar marked the beginning of a distinctly saner, more melodic direction."


  • 1.Good Enough
  • 2.Why Can't This Be Love
  • 3.Get Up
  • 4.Dreams
  • 5.Summer Nights
  • 6.Best Of Both Worlds
  • 7.Love Walks In
  • 8.5150
  • 9.Inside

Product Description:

Van Halen: Sammy Hagar, Eddie Van Halen (vocals, guitar); Michael Anthony (vocals, bass); Alex Van Halen (drums).
Recorded at 5150 Studios, Hollywood, California.
Personnel: Sammy Hagar (vocals); Eddie Van Halen (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Alex Van Halen (drums); Michael Anthony (background vocals).
Recording information: 5150.
Photographer: Aaron Rapoport.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Eddie Van Halen; Michael Anthony ; Alex Van Halen; Sammy Hagar.
Back in June of 1986, while skeptics questioned whether "Van Hagar" could deliver the goods, all doubts were put to rest as 5150 charted at #1. This was the band's first #1 record, as 1984 peaked at #2. It's also a damn good album.
After hitting #3 with his version of "California Girls" in 1985, David Lee Roth went on to pursue a successful solo career, leaving Sammy Hagar to pick up where he left off. Van Halen continue in the heavy pop vein of "Jump" with the hooky "Why Can't This Be Love." By the time every long-haired guitarist on the planet had copied Eddie Van Halen's licks, the guitar whiz had taken a right-turn and added synthesizers and programming for a broader sound. His precise use of keyboards dominates "Dreams," but his six-string dominates the ode to concert parking-lot festivities, "Summer Nights." Meanwhile, brother Alex's power-percussion gives the title track the vintage Van Halen sound. 5150 rocks hard and true.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,124
  • UPC: 075992539425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)