Little Feat Dixie Chicken

Rolling Stone: "..Little Feat never fail to turn the chances they've taken into smooth successes...audacious, ingenious.."
Dixie Chicken
Get email alerts for Little Feat
53 ratings
SALE: $8.98
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 27270
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 4/12/73, p.58
"..Little Feat never fail to turn the chances they've taken into smooth successes...audacious, ingenious.."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.106
5 stars out of 5 -- "Lowell George's best songwriting and maturing leadership were at the heart of the album....Little Feat would never sound as good than they do here."


  • 1.Dixie Chicken
  • 2.Two Trains
  • 3.Roll Um Easy
  • 4.On Your Way Down
  • 5.Kiss It Off
  • 6.Fool Yourself
  • 7.Walkin All Night
  • 8.Fat Man In The Bathtub
  • 9.Juliette
  • 10.Lafayette Railroad

Product Description:

Little Feat: Kenny Gradney (bass instrument); Lowell George, Paul Barr‚re, Richie Hayward, Sam Clayton, Bill Payne.
Personnel: Lowell George (vocals, guitar, cowbells); Paul Barr‚re (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Richie Hayward (vocals, drums); Sam Clayton (vocals, congas, percussion); Deborah Lindsey, Tret Fure, Gloria Jones, Bonnie Bramlett, Bonnie Raitt (vocals, background vocals); Danny Hutton, Stephanie Spruill (vocals); Fred Tackett (guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin, trumpet); Mick Taylor (guitar); Malcolm Cecil (synthesizer); Milt Holland (tabla, percussion); Stephanie Spurville (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Dan Hutton, Debbie Lindsey (background vocals); Stephanie Spurville, Malcolm Cecil, Milt Holland, Tret Fure, Gloria Jones, Fred Tackett, Bonnie Bramlett, Bonnie Raitt.
Audio Remasterer: Lee Herschberg.
Recording information: Clover Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA.
DIXIE CHICKEN is the first album by the most enduring Little Feat line-up: Kenny Gradney replaced departed bassist Roy Estrada, and New Orleans musicians Sam Clayton and Paul Barrere rounded out the new group. This line-up went through periodic break-ups and reunions until the death of Lowell George in 1979. The great Neon Parks album paintings were anticipated almost as much as the next collection from Little Feat, the band with which his work became inextricably linked.
This album found them at a musical peak as a stellar 70s rock band who had oodles of swamp blues and funk, with a loose shambling style that spoke of confidence rather than sloppiness. Lowell George was singing better than ever on this collection, notably with the sublime "Roll Um Easy," where his voice was chillingly expressive. Bill Payne and Richie Haywood play their respective keyboard and drums with calm and precision. There are no weak tracks here, and this is another vital album, in keeping with all recordings that featured George.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 075992727020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)