John Prine John Prine

Rolling Stone: "...It's good to have such a fine new talent around who is both interesting and provocative. If he's this good this young, time should be on his side..."
John Prine
Get email alerts for John Prine
64 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 15412
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 6, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/23/71, p.64
"...It's good to have such a fine new talent around who is both interesting and provocative. If he's this good this young, time should be on his side..."
Spin - p.101
"[The] everyday detail and poetic imagery have the hallmarks of a natural genius."
Q - 9/96, p.132
4 Stars - Excellent - "...A rebirth of roots country with a fold troubadour delivery oft compared to Dylan, it touched on social issues with an acrid wit....Chock-full of classic performances and Prine's most noted's a biting collection that's just as moving today."


  • 1.Illegal Smile
  • 2.Spanish Pipedream
  • 3.Hello In There
  • 4.Sam Stone
  • 5.Paradise
  • 6.Pretty Good
  • 7.Your Flag Decal Won't Get You Into Heaven Anymore
  • 8.Far From Me
  • 9.Angel From Montgomery
  • 10.Quiet Man
  • 11.Donald And Lydia
  • 12.Six O'Clock News
  • 13.Flashback Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: John Prine (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, fiddle); Leo LeBlanc (guitar, steel guitar); Johnny Christopher, Reggie Young (guitar); Steve Goodman (acoustic guitar, gut-string guitar); Dave Prine, Noel Gilbert (fiddle); Bobby Wood (piano, keyboards); Bobby Emmons (organ, keyboards); Gene Chrisman (drums, tambourine); Bishop Heywood (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: Arif Mardin.
Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY; American Recording Studios, Memphis, TN.
Photographers: Tom Wilkes ; Barry Feinstein.
There were a lot of "New Dylans" knocking around at the onset of the '70s, but Prine proved to be a powerful artistic voice in his own right, with plenty of staying power. His debut is full of the songs that inspired Kris Kristoffersson to help the young Chicago songwriter score a record deal. Largely based on country/folk traditions as filtered through the then-new "singer-songwriter" sound, Prine's tunes contain both wry humor and penetrating emotional insights. "Illegal Smile" is a light-hearted ode to marijuana and "Pretty Good" is an absurdist tale that manages to be both existential and sprightly at the same time.
The real gems here are the more personal character studies. "Hello in There" is a touching but completely unsentimental plea for understanding and kindness toward the elderly. "Sam Stone" is a harrowing, sharply observed portrait of a Vietnam vet. The most enduring song here is the gorgeous ballad "Angel From Montgomery," about a woman stuck in a bleak relationship, voicing her wish for deliverance. JOHN PRINE is one of the most auspicious debuts of the early '70s.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 11,377
  • UPC: 075678154126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)