Emmylou Harris The Very Best of Emmylou Harris: Heartaches & Highways

Uncut: 5 stars out of 5 - "The material covers the waterfront, from the Gram years to the post-Warners reinvention that began with 1995's WRECKING BALL."
The Very Best of Emmylou Harris: Heartaches &
Get email alerts for Emmylou Harris
34 ratings
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.38 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  359XX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 19, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.127
5 stars out of 5 - "The material covers the waterfront, from the Gram years to the post-Warners reinvention that began with 1995's WRECKING BALL."


  • 1.Love Hurts
  • 2.Boulder To Birmingham
  • 3.Making Believe
  • 4.Pancho & Lefty
  • 5.One Of These Days
  • 6.(Lost His Love) On Our Last Date
  • 7.Born To Run
  • 8.Beneath Still Waters
  • 9.If I Could Only Win Your Love
  • 10.Together Again
  • 11.That Lovin' You Feelin' Again
  • 12.To Know Him Is To Love Him
  • 13.Two More Bottles Of Wine
  • 14.Wayfaring Stranger
  • 15.Calling My Children Home
  • 16.Green Pastures
  • 17.Orphan Girl
  • 18.Michaelangelo
  • 19.Here I Am
  • 20.The Connection

Product Description:

Personnel: Emmylou Harris (vocals, acoustic guitar); Emmylou Harris; Buddy Miller (vocals, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Darryl Johnson (vocals, bass guitar, djembe, percussion); Rev. Brady Blade (vocals, drums, percussion); Barry Tashian (vocals); Tony Hall (guitar, drums); Rodney Crowell (guitar, background vocals); Frank Reckard (guitar); Albert Lee (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, piano); Herb Pedersen (acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, banjo, background vocals); Al Perkins (acoustic guitar, pedal steel guitar, dobro, banjo); Ricky Skaggs (acoustic guitar, mandolin, fiddle, background vocals); Jon Randall Stewart (acoustic guitar, mandolin); Randy Sharp (acoustic guitar, background vocals); Trevor Veitch, Rick Cunha, Tony Rice, Rick Cuhna (acoustic guitar); Ethan Johns (electric guitar, drums); Gerry McGee (electric guitar); Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar); Jerry Douglas , Mike Auldridge (dobro); Daniel Lanois (dulcimer, mandolin); David Lindley, Byron Berline (mandolin); Jim Hoke, Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Wayne Goodwin (tenor saxophone); Bill Payne (piano); Donald Johnson (electric piano); Emory Gordy Jr. (bass instrument); Kenny Edwards (acoustic bass); Roy Huskey Jr. (double bass, upright bass, background vocals); Larry Atamanuik (drums, percussion); Ed Greene, Russ Kunkel, John Ware (drums); Malcolm Burn (tambourine); Steve Fishell (percussion); Dianne Brooks, Fayssoux Starling McLean, Julie Miller (background vocals); Gram Parsons (vocals, acoustic guitar); Dolly Parton, Roy Orbison, Linda Ronstadt (vocals); James Burton (electric guitar); Sam Bush (mandolin, fiddle); Glen D. Hardin (piano, electric piano); Jai Winding (piano); Ronnie Tutt (drums).
Liner Note Author: Robert K. Oermann.
Photographers: David Gahr; Michael Putland; Michael Wilson ; Annie Leibovitz; Henry Diltz; Richard McCaffrey.
HEARTACHES & HIGHWAYS is partly a single-disc distillation of
ANTHOLOGY, a two-CD collection of Emmylou Harris's Warner Brothers
recordings. While it contains many tracks found on ANTHOLOGY, HEARTACHES ventures further to include material from Harris's later
work on Elektra, thus providing a more all-encompassing career overview.
Harris is the first lady of progressive country, and has done more to advance the concept's cause over the decades than anyone. HEARTACHES follows her trail from early, pioneering country-rock duets with Gram Parsons to her own updates of classic country tunes. Harris's perennial knack for catching on to rising songwriting luminaries is made plain with prescient covers of songs by Townes Van Zandt and Gillian Welch (Harris's attention helped the careers of both troubadours). The Elektra material finds Harris pushing the envelope ever further, venturing-- with the help of visionary producer Daniel Lanois--into moody, atmospheric territory far from honky-tonk confines. HEARTACHES & HIGHWAYS is the most comprehensive single-CD collection of Harris's work on the market.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,073
  • UPC: 081227312329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)