Les Brown It's A Wonderful World (3-CD)

Get email alerts for Les Brown
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
item number:  34R2S
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

This Les Brown collection features five original albums on three CDs. The albums included in this fantastic collection are Bandland, Revolution in Sound, Lerner & Loewe Bandbook, Richard Rodgers Bandbook and The Best of the Rare Les Brown (From the Okeh Vaults).

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Undecided
  • 2.It's A Wonderful World
  • 3.Begin The Beguine
  • 4.Night In Tunisia
  • 5.So Rare
  • 6.Woodchopper's Ball
  • 7.Caravan
  • 8.A String Of Pearls
  • 9.April In Paris
  • 10.And The Angels Sing
  • 11.Marie
  • 12.Got A Date With An Angel
  • 13.This Could Be The Start Of Something
  • 14.Patricia
  • 15.The Man With The Golden Arm
  • 16.Unchained Melody
  • 17.Stompin' At The Savoy
  • 18.Lisbon Antigua
  • 19.Peter Gunn
  • 20.One O'Clock Jump
  • 21.Man With A Horn
  • 22.Calcutta
  • 23.Music Makers
  • 24.The Song From Moulin Rouge
  • 25.Tea For Two Cha Cha
  • 26.Little Brown Jug

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Could Have Danced All Night
  • 2.Thank Heaven For Little Girls
  • 3.Camelot
  • 4.I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  • 5.If Ever I Would Leave You
  • 6.Get Me To The Church On Time
  • 7.Almost Like Being In Love
  • 8.On The Street Where You Live
  • 9.Gigi
  • 10.Follow Me
  • 11.I Loved You Once In Silence
  • 12.I'm Glad I'm Not Young Anymore
  • 13.I Could Write A Book
  • 14.I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • 15.My Funny Valentine
  • 16.I Married An Angel
  • 17.The Sound Of Music
  • 18.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 19.Spring Is Here
  • 20.People Will Say We're In Love
  • 21.Little Girl Blue
  • 22.My Romance
  • 23.The Sweetest Sounds
  • 24.The Lady Is A Tramp

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Evening Star (Theme Song)
  • 2.That Solid Old Man (Is Here Again)
  • 3.Taking A Chance On Love
  • 4.Show Me The Way To Go Home
  • 5.It Couldn't Be True (Or Could It?)
  • 6.Carloca
  • 7.Peter Is A Wolf
  • 8.In My Merry Oldsmobile
  • 9.I Guess I'll Have To Dream The Rest
  • 10.Lover's Leap
  • 11.Love Is So Terrific (Ouch! Terrific Thing!)
  • 12.Blue Danube
  • 13.Years And Years Ago
  • 14.Everybody's Making Money But Tchaikovsky
  • 15.Sophisticated Swing
  • 16.Put Something In The Pot, Boy!
  • 17.It Isn't Fair
  • 18.Jumpy Stumpy
  • 19.Turkey Hop
  • 20.Sunday
  • 21.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 22.Columbia, The Gem Of The Ocean
  • 23.Fine Thing
  • 24.Slaughter On Tenth Avenue

Product Description:

Originally released on Columbia Records.
Personnel: Butch Stone (vocals, baritone saxophone); Eileen Wilson, Pat Flaherty, Four Hits & A Miss, Jack Haskell, Ray Kelloff, Ralph Young, Betty Jane Bonney (vocals); Herb Ellis, Howard Roberts , Tony Rizzi (guitar); Gerald Vinci, Darrel Terwilliger, James Getzoff, John de Voodgt, Misha Russel, Felix Slatkin, Jacques Gasselin, Lou Klass, Amerigo Marino (violin); Alexander Neiman, Stanley Harris (viola); Eleanor Slatkin, Jesse Ehrlich (cello); Fred Haller (flute, alto saxophone); Floyd Haller, Alvin Aaron, Ralph LaPolla, Matt Utal (saxophone); Abe Aaron (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Frank Perry (alto saxophone); Billy Usselton, "John" Johnny Newsome (tenor saxophone); Uan Rasey, Dick Collins, Clinton McMahan, Mickey McMahon, Bill Mattson, Bob Clark , Jerry Kadowitz, Roy Linn, Billy Butterfield, John Audino, Ollie Mitchell, Frank Huggins (trumpet); Stumpy Brown (trombone, bass trombone, tuba); Dick Kennedy, James Hill, Joe Cadena, John Wanner, Clyde Brown , Roy Main (trombone); Phil Stephens (tuba); Terry Trotter (piano, celesta); Donn Trenner (piano); Gene Estes (vibraphone, marimba, bongos, percussion); Bob Neel (drums); Leobardo O. Acosta (timbales); Frank Emilio Flynn, Hubert Anderson (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Edward Kleban; Irving Townsend; Al Fichera.
Recording information: 07/01/1941-04/12/1962.
Arranger: Frank Comstock.
Collectables' three-disc package It's a Wonderful World features five of clarinetist/bandleader Les Brown's albums. Included here are Brown's The Lerner and Loewe Bandbook, The Richard Rodgers Bandbook, Bandland: Great Songs of Great Bands, Revolution in Sound, and The Best of the Rare Les Brown and His Orchestra. The four full albums are representative of his early-'60s big-band charts, which harked back to his popular '40s dance-band sound while updating it for the hi-fi lounge era. However, this best-of disc features rare tracks recorded from 1941 to 1950 and showcases Brown at the height of his career popularity and creativity. This is a quirky mix of the essential and the oddball, but most Brown fanatics should find this package hard to resist.~ Matt Collar

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 132,397
  • UPC: 090431027820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.70/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)