Little Feat Waiting For Columbus (2-CD) (Deluxe)

Mojo (Publisher): "...This is a corker..."
Waiting For Columbus (2-CD) (Deluxe)
Get email alerts for Little Feat
148 ratings
Price: $20.80
List Price: $21.98
You Save: $1.18 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  359VK
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 2, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 6/02, p.126
"...This is a corker..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Join The Band
  • 2.Fat Man In The Bathtub
  • 3.All That You Dream
  • 4.Oh Atlanta
  • 5.Old Folks Boogie
  • 6.Dixie Chicken
  • 7.Tripe Face Boogie
  • 8.Rocket In My Pocket
  • 9.Time Loves A Hero
  • 10.Day Or Night
  • 11.Mercenary Territory
  • 12.Spanish Moon

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Willin'
  • 2.Don't Bogart That Joint
  • 3.A Apolitical Blues
  • 4.Sailin' Shoes
  • 5.Feats Don't Fail Me Now
  • 6.One Love Stand
  • 7.Rock And Roll Doctor
  • 8.Skin It Back
  • 9.On Your Way Down
  • 10.Walkin All Night
  • 11.Cold, Cold, Cold
  • 12.Day At The Dog Races
  • 13.Skin It Back
  • 14.Red Streamliner
  • 15.Teenage Nervous Breakdown

Product Description:

Little Feat: Lowell George, Kenny Gradney, Bill Payne, Sam Clayton, Richie Hayward and Paul Barrere.
Documents the live show of a true "concert band," Little Feat's reputation
rested on its live performances, which were particularly popular in the South. This was the most successful album for Little Feat, reaching number 18 on the album charts.
2 LPs on 1 CD, with 2 songs, "Don't Bogart That Joint" and "Apolitical Blues" omitted. These 2 songs can be found as extra tracks on the CD THE LAST RECORD ALBUM.
WAITING FOR COLUMBUS: DELUXE EDITION contains WAITING FOR COLUMBUS as well as ten tracks recorded during the same tour that were not included in the original album. It also contains previously unreleased outtakes.
Little Feat includes: Lowell George (vocals, guitar, maracas, cowbell);
Paul Barrere (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, synthesizer); Kenny Gradney (bass); Richie Hayward (drums, percussion, background vocals); Sam Clayton (congas, percussion, background vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Mick Taylor (guitar); Tower Of Power (horns); Michael McDonald, Patrick Simmons (background vocals).
Producers include: Lowell George, Bill Payne, George Massenburg, Paul Barrere.
Compilation producers: Gary Peterson, Bill Payne, Paul Barrere.
Engineers include: George Massenburg, Warren Dewey, Andy Bloch.
Recorded live at the Rainbow Theatre, London, England; The Lisner Auditorium,
Washington, D.C. in August 1977. Includes liner notes by Bud Scoppa.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Lowell George (vocals, guitar, cowbells, maracas); Paul Barr‚re (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ, synthesizer); Richie Hayward (vocals, drums, percussion); Sam Clayton (vocals, congas, percussion); Mick Taylor (guitar); Lenny Pickett (clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Emilio Castillo (tenor saxophone); Stephen "Doc" Kupka (baritone saxophone); Mic Gillette (trumpet, trombone); Greg Adams (trumpet); Tower of Power Horns (horns); Michael McDonald , Patrick Simmons (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: George Massenburg; Warren Dewey; Bill Inglot; Brian Kehew.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Bud Scoppa.
Recording information: Lisner Auditorium, George Washington University, Washin (08/01/1977-08/10/1977); The Rainbow Theatre, London, England (08/01/1977-08/10/1977).
Photographers: Richard D. Young; Robert Matheu.
Arranger: Lowell George.
The original CD release of Little Feat's 1977 live album WAITING FOR COLUMBUS, like so many catalogue releases in the early days of the CD format, was truncated by two songs, "Don't Bogart That Joint" and "A Apolitical Blues." The 2002 expanded edition of the disc replaces those songs by placing side four of the original vinyl onto disc two, and follows it up with ten more live tracks, three of which had previously appeared on the 1981 rarities album HOY HOY. Recorded towards the end of Little Feat's original incarnation, WAITING FOR COLUMBUS has the boogie-oriented country and blues-rock tinges of the group's early sound, expanded into the lengthier, fusion-oriented jams that were their later focus. Yet Little Feat were always a tightly disciplined unit, and even the lengthiest songs here, like the nine-minute take on their signature song "Dixie Chicken," keep from sliding into mere aimless jamming. Although some of the bonus tracks are a little more shambolic, hard-rocking gems like the smoking "Teenage Nervous Breakdown" more than make up for them.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,878
  • UPC: 081227827427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)