Talking Heads The Name of This Band Is Talking Heads (2-CD)

The Name of This Band Is Talking Heads (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Talking Heads
77 ratings
Sale: $18.89
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $17.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $3.59 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  359V7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 16, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.147
4 stars out of 5 - "[S]howing off not only the Heads' acerbic intelligence but their flesh-and-blood force and humor."
Spin - p.90
"[Y]ou get to hear just about every great song they wrote before 1982 in the same place..."
Entertainment Weekly - p.127
"[A] gem....This two-disc set captures the punk attitude, brittle R&B vamps, and quirky lyrical trips of their early years." - Grade: A
Uncut - p.130
5 stars out of 5 - "[T]errifically thorough....[With] a previously unreleased and mesmeric nine-minute 'Born Under Punches'."
Magnet - p.97
"[M]uch richer than 1984's STOP MAKING SENSE, capturing the concert highlights of a and that's wilder, fiercer and more soulful onstage than on any of its studio albums."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.127
4 stars out of 5 - "[A]n admirable document of the Talking Heads' in-concert evolution from jittery, lean new wave to powerhouse post-punk-funk."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.New Feeling
  • 2.Clean Break, A (Let's Work)
  • 3.Don't Worry About The Government
  • 4.Pulled Up
  • 5.Psycho Killer
  • 6.Who Is It?
  • 7.The Book I Read
  • 8.The Big Country
  • 9.I'm Not In Love
  • 10.The Girls Want To Be With Girls
  • 11.Electricity (Drugs)
  • 12.Found A Job
  • 13.Mind
  • 14.Artists Only
  • 15.Stay Hungry
  • 16.Air
  • 17.Love -> Building On Fire
  • 18.Memories (Can't Wait)
  • 19.Heaven

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Psycho Killer
  • 2.Warning Sign
  • 3.Stay Hungry
  • 4.Cities
  • 5.I Zimbra
  • 6.Drugs (Electricity)
  • 7.Once in a Lifetime
  • 8.Animals
  • 9.Houses In Motion
  • 10.Born Under The Punches
  • 11.Crosseyed And Painless
  • 12.Life During Wartime
  • 13.Take Me To The River
  • 14.The Great Curve

Product Description:

Talking Heads: Jerry Harrison (vocals); David Byrne (keyboards, bass instrument, percussion); Tina Weymouth (keyboards, bass instrument); Chris Franz (keyboards, drums, percussion).
Personnel: David Byrne (vocals, guitar); Jerry Harrison (guitar, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Brian Eno (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Tina Weymouth (guitar, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Adrian Belew (guitar, background vocals); Busta Cherry Jones (guitar); Bernie Worrell (Clavinet, synthesizer, background vocals); Chris Frantz (drums); Steve Scales (congas, percussion); Dollette McDonald (percussion, background vocals); Robert Palmer (percussion); Nona Hendryx (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Ed Stasium; Talking Heads; Dave Artale; Ken Rasek; Butch Jones.
Audio Remasterer: Bob Ludwig.
Liner Note Authors: Andy Zax; Gary Peterson; Reggie Collins.
Recording information: 11/17/1977-02/27/1981.
Authors: Ira Mayer; Jon Pareles; Roman Kozak.
Photographers: Gary Kurfirst; Lynn Goldsmith; Mark Weiss; Tom Ligamari; Beverly Price; Charlie Clough; Jimmy DeSana; Donna Santisi; Ebet Roberts; Bob Grossman; Paul McAlpine; Melissa Hill; K.P. Schleinitz; Hugh Brown ; Marcia Resnick; Mark Price .
This live album was originally released as a double LP in 1982, when the Talking Heads were still extremely active. Twenty-two years later, the bonus-laden, two-CD reissue serves as a fascinating in-concert document of the phases the band went through during its first five years. The late-'70s tracks on the first disc show the early version of the band in all its geeky glory, mixing spastic New Wave quirkiness, funk rhythms, and art-school lyrics. It's intriguing to hear the difference between some of the songs' inception and their eventual recorded versions, such as a relatively straightforward "Electricity (Drugs)," which would turn ominous and atmospheric on FEAR OF MUSIC.
The second disc captures the expanded, early-'80s version of the band, with extra musicians and backing vocalists in tow, tackling the fugue-like art-funk masterpieces of the aforementioned album and REMAIN IN LIGHT. It's all the more impressive to hear the interlocking of the guitars, keyboards, and percussion achieved without the benefit of studio overdubbing, and David Byrne's near-manic intensity is even more focused and affecting in the live setting. Even vinyl freaks/Heads maniacs who hung on to the original LP for two decades will need to get this, if only for the wealth of indispensable bonus tracks.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 62,993
  • UPC: 081227648923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)