The Closing of Winterland: December 31, 1978 (4-CD)

The Closing of Winterland: December 31, 1978
Get email alerts for Grateful Dead
32 ratings
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
17 copies available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  359R8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: December 16, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Grateful Dead / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/22/04, p.73
3 stars out of 5 - "...Even by Dead standards, this was an epic show....WINTERLAND is loaded with the Dead's peculiar revisions of rock and pre-rock idioms..."
Rolling Stone - p.154
Included in Rolling Stone's The 10 Best Reissues & Anthologies Of 2004 - "[T]here is a reflective fondness and daredevil giving in the singing and jamming here that suits the end-of-an-era air."
Q - 4/04, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "Jerry Garcia's guitar is at its most inventive, and they play all the requisite anthems..."
Dirty Linen - 4/04, p.59
"The energetic performance included a sprawling repertoire that blended recently penned tunes like 'Stagger Lee' and 'I Need a Miracle' and old classics like 'Saint Stephen'..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Sugar Magnolia
  • 2.Scarlet Begonias
  • 3.Fire On The Mountain
  • 4.Me And My Uncle
  • 5.Big River
  • 6.Friend Of The Devil
  • 7.It's All Over Now
  • 8.Stagger Lee
  • 9.From The Heart Of Me
  • 10.Sunshine Daydream

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Samson And Delilah
  • 2.Ramble On Rose
  • 3.I Need A Miracle
  • 4.Terrapin Station
  • 5.Playing In The Band

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Rhythm Devils
  • 2.Not Fade Away
  • 3.Around And Around

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Dark Star
  • 2.The Other One
  • 3.Dark Star
  • 4.Wharf Rat
  • 5.St. Stephen
  • 6.Good Lovin'
  • 7.Casey Jones
  • 8.Johnny B. Goode
  • 9.We Bid You Goodnight

Product Description:

The Grateful Dead includes: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir (vocals, guitar); Phil Lesh (bass); Mickey Hart (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Bill Graham, Dan Aykroyd (spoken vocals).
Recorded live at the Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco, California on December 31, 1978. Includes liner notes by Gary Lambert and Glenn Lambert.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
Personnel: Jerry Garcia (vocals, guitar); Dan Aykroyd (vocals, harmonica); Keith Godchaux (vocals, keyboards); Phil Lesh (vocals, electric bass); Donna Jean Godchaux, Bob Weir (vocals); John Cipollina (guitar); Lee Oskar, Matthew Kelly (harmonica); Greg Errico, Mickey Hart, Bill Kreutzmann (drums); Ken Kesey (sound effects).
Liner Note Author: Gary Lambert.
Recording information: Winterland, San Francisco, CA (12/31/1978-01/01/1979).
Photographer: Steve Schneider.
Arrangers: Grateful Dead; Bob Weir.
This pristine recording of the final concert at Winterland, the crumbling San Francisco venue that had witnessed thousands of often incandescent rock & roll shows between 1967 and 1978, features the only band deemed worthy of closing the old place down. The Grateful Dead performed three sets of relaxed, often inspired music that night, most of which is captured here--favorites like "Dark Star" showcase their often almost telepathic improvisatory skills, while covers like "Johnny B. Goode" and "Good Lovin'" show that they're also not averse to pure entertainment.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,167
  • UPC: 081227805524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.48/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)