Buddy Miles All the Faces of Buddy Miles [Bonus Track]

All the Faces of Buddy Miles [Bonus Track]
Get email alerts for Buddy Miles
3 ratings
Sale: $12.58
WINTER SALE: $11.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $2.63 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
sku:  H5J7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 10, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Wounded Bird Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.104
3 stars out of 5 -- "Highlights include the conscious-soul groove of 'Wants and Needs' and the fusionist 'We Got Love.'"


  • 1.Pull Yourself Together
  • 2.We Got Love
  • 3.All the Faces
  • 4.I'm Just a Kiss Away
  • 5.It's Only the Good Times
  • 6.Got to Find Ms. Right
  • 7.Pain
  • 8.Kiss and Run
  • 9.Wants and Needs (The Earth Song)
  • 10.Baby Don't Stop (Sit on the Rock)
  • 11.Pull Yourself Together [Single Edit]

Product Description:

Personnel: Buddy Miles (vocals, guitar, organ, drums); Melvin "Wah Wah" Ragin, Ray Parker, Jr., Kenneth Hawkins (guitar); Ernie Watts (saxophone); Clarence McDonald, Jerry Peters (keyboards); Ed Greene (drums); Gene Estes, Joe Clayton (percussion).
It's safe to say that there is no other recording in the catalog of drummer and vocalist Buddy Miles like this one. Recorded in 1974 and produced by the great Johnny Bristol, this places Miles in a strictly soul setting with some funky backdrops in places -- thanks to the arrangements by H.B. Barnum -- and while it never rocks, it rolls throughout. This is a set of smooth soul grooves, with Miles offering some of the best vocal performances of his career. The players on this set include the great Funk Brothers bassist James Jamerson; saxophonist Ernie Watts; guitarists Kenneth Hawkins, Melvin Ragin, and Ray Parker, Jr.; keyboardists Jerry Peters and Clarence McDonald; percussionists Joe Clayton and Gene Estes; and Miles playing drums, organ, and bass. The session includes strings and a female backing chorus as well. There are some grooved-out steppers like "We Got Love" and "Wants and Needs (The Earth Song)" with a horn section, wah-wah guitars, and uptempo, rousing strings creating a slippery early disco feel -- even if Miles' voice isn't completely up to the standards of the period's production. The gospel-flavored, Philly-influenced soul of "Pull Yourself Together" that opens the set works like a charm (there is an edited version tacked on as a bonus track on the Wounded Bird CD release), and the rollicking percussion-driven funk of "We Got Love" carries within it equal parts Ray Charles, Leroy Hutson, and Barry White. Fans of Miles' rock & roll style will likely hate this, but those interested in early- to mid-'70s soul will greet this forgotten album with open arms. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 664140308923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)