Kansas Masque (180G/Red Vinyl)

Get email alerts for Kansas
Price: $30.60
List Price: $32.99
You Save: $2.39 (7% Off)
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 5-8 days
12 copies available
Format:  Vinyl LP
sku:  6XXYV
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: June 28, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Music on Vinyl

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.It Takes A Woman's Love (To Makes A Man)
  • 2.Two Cents Worth
  • 3.Icarus - Borne On Wings Of Steel
  • 4.All The World

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Child Of Innocence
  • 2.It's You
  • 3.Mysteries And Mayhem
  • 4.The Pinnacle

Product Description:

Kansas: Steve Walsh (vocals, piano, organ, Clavinet, Moog synthesizer, congas); Robby Steinhardt (vocals, violin); Kerry Livgren (acoustic & electric guitars, piano, Clavinet, ARP & Moog synthesizers); Rich Williams (guitar); Dave Hope (bass); Phil Ehart (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Lon Price (saxophone).
Producer: Jeff Glixman.
Reissue producers: Jeff Glixman, Jeff Magid.
Recorded at Studio In The Country, Bogalusa, Louisiana. Includes liner notes by David Wild and Jeff Glixman.
Digitally remastered by Darcy Proper and Suha Gur.
Kansas' third album, Masque, is a lyrically dark effort courtesy of guitarist/keyboardist Kerry Livgren's brooding songwriting. Musically, Masque foreshadows the tight melodies and instrumental interplay on the next two albums, Leftoverture and Point of Know Return, which together serve as the peak of Kansas' vision. The band deserves more respect than it gets for incorporating British hard rock and progressive rock to become the only U.S. progressive rock band of note during the genre's 1970s heyday. Robbie Steinhardt's violin work certainly helped give Kansas a distinctive sound. The liner notes indicate Masque is a "concept album" thanks to the title's definition: "A disguise of reality created through a theatrical or musical performance." Vocalist/keyboardist Steve Walsh's "It Takes a Woman's Love (To Make a Man)" is the leadoff track, and it's atypical of the rest of the album. The song is a fairly basic yet groovy pop/rock tune about musicians' loneliness on the road, but it is spiced up with some saxophone lines. "Two Cents Worth" addresses guilt, misery, and spiritual longing -- pretty heavy stuff for six guys who were only in their mid-twenties. In "Icarus--Borne on Wings of Steel," Kansas' prog rock ambitions show through the mythology-based lyrics and the densely arranged guitars and keyboards. Walsh and Steinhardt's "All the World" is largely a bleak examination of loneliness and death, although it does end with a glimmer of hope. "Child of Innocence" is a tough blast of hard rock with a soaring chorus. "Mysteries and Mayhem" rocks along, yet it's rich with haunting nightmare imagery and biblical references. The nine-and-a-half-minute epic "The Pinnacle" closes the album. ~ Bret Adams
Vinyl LPs
Vinyl from Music On Vinyl

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 8719262009028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)