Carly Simon The Best of Carly Simon

The Best of Carly Simon
Get email alerts for Carly Simon
50 ratings
Price: $5.50
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  32YVC
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1977
  • Label: Elektra / WEA


  • 1.That's The Way I've Always Heard It Should Be
  • 2.The Right Thing To Do
  • 3.Mockingbird
  • 4.Legend In Your Own Time
  • 5.Haven't Got Time For The Pain
  • 6.You're So Vain
  • 7.No Secrets (We Have)
  • 8.Night Owl
  • 9.Anticipation
  • 10.Attitude Dancing

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Carly Simon (vocals, acoustic guitar, piano); James Taylor, Carole King (vocals); Jim Ryan (acoustic & electric guitars, bass); Paul Keough (acoustic guitar); Robbie Robertson, Andrew Gold (guitar); Bobby Keys (tenor & baritone saxophones); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Dr. John (piano, organ); Paul Griffin, Paul Glanz, Nicky Hopkins (piano); Tony Levin, Klaus Voorman, Willie Weeks (bass); Andy Newmark (drums, percussion); Jimmy Johnson, Jim Keltner, Jim Gordon (drums); Ray Cooper, Eddie Bongo (congas); Ralph McDonald, Richard Perry (percussion); Mick Jagger, Liza Strike, Vicki Brown, Carl Hall, Tasha Thomas, Lani Groves, Bonnie Bramlett, Doris Troy, Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney (background vocals).
Producers: Eddie Kramer, Richard Perry, Paul Samwell-Smith.
Personnel: Carly Simon (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, background vocals); James Taylor (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); Vicki Brown, Doris Troy, Abigale Haness, Ken Moore, Lani Groves, Tasha Thomas, Bonnie Bramlett, Carl Hall, Carole King (vocals, background vocals); Linda McCartney, Mick Jagger, Paul McCartney (vocals); Jim Ryan (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, acoustic bass); Robbie Robertson (guitar, electric guitar); Dr. John (guitar, piano, organ, keyboards); Andrew Gold (guitar, drums); Paul Keough (acoustic guitar); Bobby Keys (saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Michael Brecker (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Nicky Hopkins, Paul Glanz, Paul Griffin (piano); Kirby Johnson (electric piano, keyboards); Andy Newmark (drums, percussion); Jimmy Johnson , Jimmy Johnson, Jr. , Jim Gordon , Jim Keltner (drums); Ray Cooper (congas, percussion); Eddie Bongo (congas); Ralph MacDonald, Richard Perry (percussion); Kenny Moore, Liza Strike (background vocals).
The first and still the best of the many Carly Simon compilations available, 1975's THE BEST OF CARLY SIMON is an all-meat, no-filler collection of most of the folk-pop singer/songwriter's best and biggest songs. Looking over the track listing, one is reminded of just how many classic songs Simon was responsible for in the early '70s.
"That's the Way I've Always Heard it Should Be," "The Right Thing to Do," "Haven't Got Time For the Pain," "Anticipation," and of course "You're So Vain" still sound remarkably solid. This is particularly impressive considering the amount of radio time they've all gotten in the intervening decades. Simon's husky voice and smart, piano-based arrangements don't sound nearly as dated as those of many of her contemporaries, and while THE BEST OF CARLY SIMON may qualify as a guilty pleasure in some minds, it's a pleasure nonetheless.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,502
  • UPC: 075596051521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)