Sylvester The Original Hits

The Original Hits
Get email alerts for Sylvester
15 ratings
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.87 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
sku:  H8HV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 6, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Imports


  • 1.Dance (Disco Heat)
  • 2.You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)
  • 3.Down, Down, Down
  • 4.Stars
  • 5.Body Strong
  • 6.I Need You
  • 7.Sell My Soul
  • 8.Cry Me A River
  • 9.Ooo Baby Baby
  • 10.Can't Stop Dancing
  • 11.You Are My Friend

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Sylvester (vocals, piano); Tip Wirrick, George Victory, John Tropea (guitar); Eric Robinson (piano, keyboards, sythesizer); Louis Small (piano, electric piano, synthesizer); Michael Finden (electric piano, Clavinet, organ); Patrick Cowley (synthesizer, special effects); Bob Kingson, John Dunstan, Norman Durham (bass); Randy Merritt, Woody Cunningham, Kelvin Dixon (drums); David Frazier (percussion); Hodges, James & Smith; Ella Mitchell, Cookie Holt, Jeanie Tracy (background vocals).
Two Tons O' Fun: Izora Rhodes, Martha Wash (vocals).
Includes liner notes from Gene Santoro.
The paradox of being a disco star is that while the role requires a certain kind of glitzy flamboyance, the rigors of the style itself demand that the artist also give up a large measure of his or her personality. No one exemplified this dilemma better than Sylvester, the San Francisco dance artist who broke out with two nation-wide hits, "Dance (Disco Heat)" and "You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)," and who also introduced the Two Tons 'O Fun powerhouse singers, Martha Wash and Izora Rhodes (a.k.a. The Weather Girls.) Indeed, while Sylvester possessed a fine falsetto gospel voice that he could employ to great effect, it is near impossible to pick him out of the Two Tons vocal mix on a track like "Dance (Disco Heat)." He could be as anonymous as they come.
Still the gospel strain is perhaps the most important. For all the drag queen aspect of this singer's persona, he was his greatest as the most prominent member of a shouting, praising community. Extended, beat-driven tracks like "Stars" and "Body Strong" only give him (and his singers) ample room to shout and praise to his soul's content.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 50,489
  • UPC: 888072313835
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)