Aretha Franklin The Definitive Soul Collection (2-CD)

Q: 5 Stars - Indispensable - "...[the songs are] all extracted from her golden years, '67-'74, so choice is simply a matter of weighing wonderfulness by the pound..."
The Definitive Soul Collection (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Aretha Franklin
58 ratings
Price: $18
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $1.98 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
19 copies available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  332E2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 11, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 7/93, p.106
5 Stars - Indispensable - "...[the songs are] all extracted from her golden years, '67-'74, so choice is simply a matter of weighing wonderfulness by the pound..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
  • 2.Respect
  • 3.Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
  • 4.Dr Feelgood
  • 5.Save Me
  • 6.Baby I Love You
  • 7.Natural Woman, A (You Make Me Feel Like)
  • 8.Chain Of Fools
  • 9.Since You've Been Gone
  • 10.Ain't No Way
  • 11.Think
  • 12.I Say A Little Prayer
  • 13.The House That Jack Built
  • 14.See Saw
  • 15.The Weight
  • 16.Share Your Love With Me
  • 17.Eleanor Rigby

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Call Me
  • 2.Spirit In The Dark
  • 3.Don't Play That Song
  • 4.You're All I Need To Get By
  • 5.Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 6.Spanish Harlem
  • 7.Rock Steady
  • 8.Oh Me Oh My (I'm A Fool For You Baby)
  • 9.Day Dreaming
  • 10.Wholly Holy
  • 11.Angel
  • 12.Until You Come Back To Me
  • 13.I'm In Love

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Aretha Franklin (vocals, piano); Chips Moman, Jimmy Johnson, Eddie Hinton, Jerry Weaver, Charlie Freeman, Hugh McCracken, Cornell Dupree, Don Arnone, David Spinozza (guitar); Joe Farrell (flute, tenor saxophone); Hubert Laws (flute); The Memphis Horns (horns); Spooner Oldham (electric piano, organ); Richard Tee, Ken Lupper (organ); Barry Beckett, Jim Dickinson, Mike Utley, Donny Hathaway (keyboards); Kenneth Bichel (synthesizer); Tommy Cogbill, David Hood, Tommy McClure, Eric Gale, Chuck Rainey (bass), Roger Hawkins, Sammy Creason, Al Jackson, Ray Lucas, Bernard Purdie, Rick Marotta (drums); Pancho Morales (congas); Robert Popwell, Doctor John, Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Erma Franklin, Carolyn Franklin, The Sweet Inspirations, The Sweethearts Of Soul, The Southern California Community Choir (background vocals); Joe South.
Producers: Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd, Arif Mardin, Aretha Franklin, Quincy Jones.
Compilation producer: Kim Cooke.
Producers: Jerry Wexler, Tom Dowd, Arif Mardin, Aretha Franklin, Curtis Mayfield.
Compilation producers: Norma Edwards, David Nathan.
Includes liner notes by Norma Edwards.
Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, piano, background vocals); Cissy Houston, Ellie Greenwich (vocals); Chips Moman, Cornell Dupree, Jimmy Johnson , David Spinozza, Duane Allman, Eddie Hinton, Hugh McCracken, Jerry Weaver, Charlie Freeman (guitar); Don Arnone (acoustic guitar); Joe Farrell (flute, tenor saxophone); Hubert Laws (flute); King Curtis (brass); The Memphis Horns (horns); Spooner Oldham (electric piano); Kenneth Lupper, Richard Tee (organ); Donny Hathaway, Jim Dickinson, Mike Utley, Barry Beckett, Billy Preston (keyboards); Kenneth Bichel (synthesizer); Al Jackson, Jr. , Ray Lucas, Rick Marotta, Roger Hawkins, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, Sammy Creason (drums); Pancho Morales (congas); Dr. John, Robert "Pops" Popwell (percussion); Erma Franklin, The Sweethearts of Soul, Carolyn Franklin (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Larry LeBlanc.
Director: James Cleveland.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Eric Clapton; Joe South; King Curtis.
The title may not be 100-percent accurate, since the songs here are culled from Franklin's soul years, roughly between 1967 and 1974, and she's had lots more hits since then. That nit picked, however, this is a genuine embarrassment of riches, with Aretha's soaring voice and under-appreciated piano decorating one wonderful genre-defining song ("Respect," "Chain of Fools," "Natural Woman," "Since You've Been Gone") after another. The most revelatory cut is probably "I Say a Little Prayer," in which Franklin imbues the song with a spine-tingling gospel flavor without ever losing the pop delicacy of the original Dionne Warwick version. But just about everything else here is essential listening.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,780
  • UPC: 075678166822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)