Josh Ritter Golden Age Of Radio

Uncut: 4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is softly rolling roots-folk with the warmth of John Prine and a twist of Richard Buckner."
Get email alerts for Josh Ritter
Price: $19.90
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $3.09 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP  (2 Records)
item number:  6XVSD
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 2
  • Released: October 11, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Junketboy

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 2/04, p.105
3 stars out of 5 - "Like his heroes, Ritter is a skillful melancholic..."
Uncut - 1/04, p.108
4 stars out of 5 - "[T]his is softly rolling roots-folk with the warmth of John Prine and a twist of Richard Buckner."
Magnet - 6-7/02, p.104
"...Thoughtful, poetic songs about painting his girlfriend's name on a water tower, hearing Patsy Cline's ghost or thinking about life..."
CMJ - 4/15/02, p.12
"...Loving and tuneful melodies about small-town life and general life crises..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Come And Find Me
  • 2.Me & Jiggs
  • 3.You've Got The Moon
  • 4.Lawrence, KS
  • 5.Anne
  • 6.Roll On
  • 7.Leaving (Solo Acoustic)
  • 8.Other Side (Solo Acoustic)
  • 9.Harrisburg (Solo Acoustic)
  • 10.Drive Away (Solo Acoustic)
  • 11.Golden Age Of Radio (Solo Acoustic)
  • 12.Song For The Fireflies (Solo Acoustic)
  • 13.A Country Song (Original Recording)
  • 14.Don't Wake Juniper (Studio B-Side)
  • 15.Come & Find Me (Jackdrag Remix)
  • 16.Other Side (Jackdrag Remix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Leaving
  • 2.Other Side
  • 3.Harrisburg
  • 4.Drive Away
  • 5.Golden Age Of Radio
  • 6.Song For The Fireflies

Product Description:

Personnel Josh Ritter, Zack Hickman, Jason Humphrey, Darius Zelkha.
Few young singer/songwriters have quite so quickly won the sort of acclaim that Idaho-born Josh Ritter gained with his first self-released album, which won rave reviews, earned him slots opening for Bob Dylan, and made him a minor celebrity in Ireland, where he's already headlined several tours. Ritter's second disc (and first nationally released album), Golden Age of Radio, makes it clear that his sudden success is well deserved, and based on genuine talent. Ritter's moody, evocative songs seems to reside in a middle ground between Richard Buckner and Ryan Adams, but without suggesting he's lifted anything from either of those performers; his quiet but assured vocals and carefully drawn verbal images on numbers like "Come and Find Me" and "Lawrence, KS" are the work of a writer far more mature than his years would suggest, while the more up-tempo numbers with his band (especially "Me & Jiggs" and "Golden Age of Radio") have a scrappy enthusiasm that suggest early Whiskeytown, without their overbearing arrogance. As both as writer and a performer, Ritter displays a modesty that's at once winning and just a bit of a drawback; a few of the acoustic numbers are just a shade too spare for their own good, and he works well enough with a band that it's hard not to wish that they'd be willing to put a little more of their weight behind the arrangements. But the best moments on Golden Age of Radio are truly splendid, and if the album suggests that Josh Ritter is still learning the ropes, what he knows already is more than many artists will ever figure out. Great stuff. ~ Mark Deming
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 738435010348
  • Shipping Weight: 0.69/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)