The Gap Band IV
Get email alerts for The Gap Band
21 ratings
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $5.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $1.01 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  USP 22794
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 28, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: MCA Special Products


  • 1.Early In The Morning
  • 2.Season's No Reason To Change
  • 3.Lonely Like Me
  • 4.Outstanding
  • 5.Stay With Me
  • 6.You Dropped A Bomb On Me
  • 7.I Can't Get Over You
  • 8.Talkin' Back

Product Description:

The Gap Band: Charlie Wilson (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Robert Wilson (guitar, bass, percussion, background vocals); Ronnie Wilson (flugelhorn, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals).
Recorded at Total Experience, Hollywood, California.
Personnel: Charlie Wilson (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer, percussion); Robert Wilson (guitar, percussion, background vocals); Glenn Nightingale, Fred Jenkins, Jimmy Macon (guitar); Ronnie Wilson (flugelhorn, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion, background vocals); Oliver Scott (horns, keyboards, synthesizer); Larry Stone, Earl Roberson, Andy Ward (horns); Robert Whitfield, Louis Cabaza (keyboards, synthesizer); Ronnie Kaufman (drums, percussion); Raymond Calhoun, Melvin Webb (drums); Cavin Yarbough, Sheila Young, David Drew, Maxine Lewis, Alisa Peoples, Lonnie Simmons , Marva King, Rudy Taylor, Val Young (background vocals).
Recording information: Total Experience Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA (1982).
Gap Band IV featured a complete lineup of up-tempo, mid-tempo, and alluring ballads. The feature releases, in order, were "Early in the Morning," "You Dropped a Bomb on Me," and "Outstanding." The first two are energized numbers seasoned around horrific basslines and Charlie Wilson's dazzling vocals. Respectively, they peaked at number one and two on the Billboard R&B chart. Not as aggressive, the latter is a festive number paced an unorthodox percussive beat. It claimed the number one spot on the Billboard R&B chart as well. There were no other official selections to grace Billboard. However, every song visited radio, and rightly so. The sentimental numbers "Stay With Me," "Seasons No Reason to Change," and "I Can't Get Over You" have become standard among R&B radio. The latter features a sentimental fl?gelhorn exhibition by Ronnie Wilson. Mellow numbers always seem to retain that timeless appeal whereas up-tempo numbers fade with time. This album is different; the up-tempo numbers remain inviting as well. This is a great album. ~ Craig Lytle
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 21,837
  • UPC: 042282279422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)