The Spinners Best of The 70s & 80s (4-CD Box Set)

Best of The 70s & 80s (4-CD Box Set)
Get email alerts for The Spinners
5 ratings
WINTER SALE: $29.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $59.97
You Save: $29.99 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  COL 0085
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Spinners were R&B favorites who had an incredible run of hits in the early to mid-1970s. This collection of four original albums, including the extremely popular double live album - "Live!", comprise the group's key work on the Atlantic label.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Fascinating Rhythm
  • 2.I've Got To Make It On My Own
  • 3.Living A Little, Laughing A Little
  • 4.One Of A Kind (Love Affair)
  • 5.Then Came You
  • 6.Sadie
  • 7.How Could I Let You Get Away
  • 8.Could It Be I'm Falling In Love
  • 9.It's Not Unusual / Don't Mess With Bill / Paper Doll / Stop! In the Name of Love / If I Didn't Care / Hound Dog / Hello Dolly
  • 10.Love Don't Love Nobody
  • 11.Mighty Love

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Now That We're Together
  • 2.You're All I Need In Life
  • 3.If You Can't Be In Love
  • 4.The Rubberband Man
  • 5.Toni My Love
  • 6.Four Hands In The Fire
  • 7.The Clown
  • 8.Wake Up Susan
  • 9.I'm Gonna Getcha
  • 10.I'm Tired Of Giving
  • 11.Painted Magic
  • 12.You Got The Love That I Need
  • 13.Heaven On Earth (So Fine)
  • 14.Back In The Arms Of Love
  • 15.(Love Is) One Step Away
  • 16.Easy Come, Easy Go
  • 17.Baby I Need Your Love (You're The Only One)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.It's A Natural Affair
  • 2.Don't Let The Man Get You
  • 3.(A) Plain And Simple Love Song
  • 4.Are You Ready For Love
  • 5.I Love The Music
  • 6.One Man Wonderful Band
  • 7.If You Wanna Do A Dance (All Night)
  • 8.Once You Fall In Love
  • 9.Love Trippin'
  • 10.Heavy On The Sunshine
  • 11.Cupid / I've Loved You For A Long Time
  • 12.I Just Want To Be With You
  • 13.Streetwise
  • 14.I Just Want To Fall In Love
  • 15.Now That You're Mine Again
  • 16.Split Decision
  • 17.I'm Takin' You Back
  • 18.Pipedream

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Me And My Music
  • 2.I Found Love (When I Found You)
  • 3.I'm Riding Your Shadow (Down To Love)
  • 4.You're The Love Of My Life
  • 5.I Must Be Living For A Broken Heart
  • 6.Honey, I'm In Love With You
  • 7.Just To Be With You
  • 8.You're Throwing A Good Love Away
  • 9.Yesterday Once More / Nothing Remains The Same
  • 10.Almost All The Way To Love
  • 11.The Winter Of Our Love
  • 12.Be My Love
  • 13.Give Your Lady What She Wants
  • 14.Long Live Soul Music

Product Description:

Also available on Collectables as 4 separate 2-for-1 CDs.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Arrangers: Michael Zager; Thom Bell.
This 60-track Spinners set is intended only for Spinners fanatics who want a comprehensive look at the group's late-'70s and early-'80s work . The Detroiters' recording career began as the top dogs on Harvey and Gwen Fuqua's tiny Tri-Phi Records, but bottomed for eight years after Motown acquired Tri-Phi (and the Spinners). The fall was rough and rocky. Motown required that the band do odd jobs like chauffeuring and packing records to earn miniscule salaries. They only managed a couple of regional hits at Hitsville U.S.A.: "I'll Always You" and "Truly Yours" and one big one, "It's a Shame," which came near the end of their contract. But the time proved well spent. Those less-than-lucrative years garnered a loyal following and respect from insiders like Thom Bell, who picked the Spinners from a group of artists -- some better known -- to produce for Atlantic Records. The relationship resulted in a blistering '70s hit barrage that made them arguably -- with the O'Jays, another group who suffered in the '60s -- the top male vocal group of that decade. Collectables chronicles the essentials on this multi-disc collection that includes a super helping of their '80s tracks as well. You'll be spinning and singing to the jaunty tunes and moaning with Philippe Wynne on the weepers. The different leads -- Wynne, Bobby Smith, Henry Fambrough, John Edwards, and Dionne Warwick on "Then Came You" -- provide contrast. And the producers after Bell, including Michael Zager, keep this monumental compilation compelling. ~ Andrew Hamilton
Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 40,680
  • UPC: 090431008522
  • Shipping Weight: 1.73/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)