The Five Blind Boys Of Mississippi

Email alerts for products
by The Five Blind Boys Of Mississippi


This vocal gospel group, consisting of Archie Brownlee (d. 1960), Joseph Ford, Lawrence Abrams (d. 1982) and Lloyd Woodard, was formed in 1936 by blind students of the Piney Woods School, Jackson, Mississippi. They began singing together in their school grounds and called themselves the Cotton Blossom Singers. By the mid-40s the group had moved to New Orleans and had added Melvin Henderson as their second lead. He was in turn replaced by (the sighted) Percell Perkins, whereupon the band became... Read more


black gospel
five blind boys of mississippi
the vitamin b12
americas north older
Powered by AudioScrobbler