Genres: Pop / Rock
Decades: 2000s


Originally known as the Green-Eyed Children, Hurrah! consisted of Paul Handyside (28 September 1960, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Tyne And Wear, England; guitar, vocals), David ‘Taffy’ Hughes (b. 16 March 1961, Southmoor, Northumberland, England; guitar, vocals), David Porterhouse (b. 17 August 1961, Gateshead, Tyne And Wear, England; bass) and Mark Sim (drums). Switching to the moniker of Hurrah!, the quartet signed to the new Kitchenware Records label in 1982. Mark Sim soon departed to be replaced by Damien Mahoney, whereupon a series of acclaimed singles such as ‘The Sun Shines Here’ and ‘Hip Hip’ earned the band great respect from the British independent sector. Based upon the pivotal force of the singing, guitar-playing and songwriting partnership of Paul Handyside and David Hughes, Hurrah! mastered a jittery, urgent style rich in melodic content. By 1986, however, the band had pushed their sound towards a rockier terrain, replacing the...

Arrow Read the Full Biography of Hurrah!

Email alerts for products
by Hurrah!