The Van Dykes Biography

This US group was formed in Fort Worth, Texas in 1964 when Rondalis Tandy (lead vocal) teamed with three aspiring singers, Wenzon Mosley (tenor), James Mays (bass) and Eddie Nixon (falsetto). Nixon left prior to recording ‘No Man Is An Island’, which was the Van Dykes’ first single, and the prototype for many of their subsequent releases. This exquisite ballad featured Tandy’s tight, almost claustrophobic falsetto, while a sparse instrumental section emphasized the three singers’ close harmonies and their indebtedness to the Impressions. The trio folded in 1968 following Tandy’s departure for California. No Man Is An Island released in 1982 features previously issued material together with newly discovered masters.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results