The Octopus Project Biography

Based in Austin, Texas, this US experimental indie rock band was formed in 1999 by multi-instrumentalists Josh Lambert (guitar, bass, keyboards), Toto Miranda (drums, guitar, bass), Ryan Figg (guitar, bass, keyboards) and Yvonne Lambert (keyboards, guitar, Theremin). The quartet made their debut the same year with the EP Christmas On Mars, a dizzying instrumental confection of analogue and digital sounds with Lambert’s Theremin and Miranda’s driving percussion the key elements.

The band’s subsequent albums for the Peek-A-Boo label have grown ever more adventurous and ambitious, with the members drawing a staggering array of sounds from their instruments and sequencers. Of particular note were the 2006 collaboration with fellow sonic adventurers Black Moth Super Rainbow and the following year’s Hello, Avalanche, which benefited from more streamlined production values. Their live shows regularly saw the band incorporating balloons, lights and projection into their multi-media presentations, with the members switching freely between instruments on stage.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results