The New Colony Six Biography

Formed in Chicago, Illinois, USA, the New Colony Six were one of the first of the city’s teenage groups to secure a national hit when ‘I Confess’ reached the US Hot 100 in February 1966. The sextet then moved to Los Angeles where they shared a house with Paul Revere And The Raiders, adopting the same ‘Revolutionary War’-styled garb favoured by the latter act. The New Colony Six - Patrick McBride (vocals, harmonica), Ray Graffia (tambourine, vocals), Jerry Kollenburgh (lead guitar), Carug Kemp (organ), Wally Kemp (bass) and Chic James (drums) - initially pursued a hard, British-influenced sound, but a subsequent switch to a soft rock style was rewarded in 1968 with two US Top 30 entries, ‘I Will Always Think About You’ and ‘Things I’d Like To Say’. Newcomer Ronnie Rice was largely responsible for this particular direction, writing the bulk of the group’s material and taking lead vocals, but although the unit continued to enjoy minor hits into the 70s, it was unable to rekindle the urgency of early recordings.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results