The Long Blondes Biography

UK indie rock band formed in 2003 in Sheffield, Yorkshire, by Kate Jackson (1976, England; vocals), Dorian Cox (guitar, keyboards), Reenie Hollis (bass, vocals), Emma Chaplin (guitar, keyboards, vocals) and Screech Louder (drums). Drawing equally from 60s pop and later new wave band such as Blondie, the quintet made an immediate impact with a series of declamatory live shows. Their avowed disinterest in the established rock canon, combined with the studied disinterest of lead singer Jackson and Cox’s chiming guitar work, caused some excitable critics to hail the Long Blondes as one of the year’s most significant new bands.

They made their recording debut in summer 2004 with the thrilling ‘Autonomy Boy’ on the Angular Recording Corporation compilation Rip Off Your Labels. The track was subsequently re-released on a split 7-inch single with the Boyfriends. Another independent release, ‘New Idols’, followed on the Sheffield-based Thee Sheffield Phonographic Corporation label. Two further Angular singles, ‘Giddy Stratospheres’ and ‘Appropriation (By Any Other Name)’, generated widespread acclaim in the independent music press. After a brief foray on the Good And Evil label, the Long Blondes signed a recording contract with established UK independent Rough Trade Records. Steve Mackey, formerly of Sheffield favourites Pulp, produced their debut Someone To Drive You Home, which was released at the end of 2006. Despite the rather derivative nature of some of the material, the album offered up just enough catchy choruses and acerbic lyrics to win widespread approval.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
Couples (LP)
$6.39 on SALE
Out of Stock
Save for Later