The Faint Biography

Few rock acts started off playing lo-fi pop folk, before transforming into a electronic-based, new wave dance outfit, but the Omaha, Nebraska, USA-based trio, the Faint, is one of the few exceptions. The band was formed during 1994 by Todd Baechle (vocals/synthesizer), Clark Baechle (drums) and Joel Petersen (bass/guitar), and soon began playing their folk-based tunes in local coffee houses, under the name Norman Bailer (Conor Oberst aka Bright Eyes was briefly a member). After releasing an obscure cassette, the trio toughened up their sound a bit, and spent the next few years honing their new style. During this time, they recruited bass player Matt Bowen and changed their name to the Faint, and in 1998 issued their debut release for the Saddle Creek label, the musically varied Media. They began focusing more on dance material for their 1999 follow-up, Blank-Wave Arcade, looking to 80s electronic acts such as Depeche Mode, Soft Cell, and the Human League for guidance. The album was recorded without Bowen but with the input of an important new member, keyboard player Jacob Thiele.

The Faint made the full musical transition with 2001’s superb Danse Macabre, which straddled the divide between dance and rock with style and great melodies. Shortly thereafter the group welcomed new guitarist, Dapose (ex-Lead), into their line-up. A remix album preceded the release of the band’s new studio set, Wet From Birth, a frustratingly uneven album.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results
Doom Abuse
20% OFF
Doom Abuse (CD)
$11.96 Winter Sale