Rise Against Biography

This US hardcore band was formed in 1998 by Joe Principe (bass/vocals), Mr. Precision (Dan Wlekinski; guitar/vocals), Tim McIlrath (vocals/guitar) and Brandon Barnes (drums), and originally went under the name Transistor Revolt. Principe and Mr. Precision had formerly played with each other in punk band 88 Fingers Louie. The band’s 2000 demo was posted under the Transistor Revolt moniker, but by the time they had signed a contract with leading independent Fat Wreck Chords the quartet had adopted their new stage name. Their debut The Unraveling was an uncompromising slice of traditional hardcore produced by Mas Giorgini. New guitarist Todd Mohney replaced Mr. Precision for the recording of the band’s second album for Fat Wreck, Revolutions Per Minute, which included an unlikely cover version of AOR favourites Journey’s ‘Any Way You Want It’.

Rise Against then shocked some of their hardcore fans by signing a major label contract with DreamWorks Records, but the label’s demise meant another switch, this time to Geffen Records. Chris Chasse (ex-Reach The Sky) replaced Mohney on the band’s major label debut, Siren Song Of The Counter Culture, which was released at the end of 2004. The album retained the band’s hardcore edge but was also noticeably more commercial, owing in no small part to the mix by Nirvana veteran Andy Wallace. The band’s rising profile saw them break into the national charts and playing main stages at several of the major summer festivals. They also made their film debut, appearing as a punk band in the skateboarding movie Lords Of Dogtown. In summer 2006, the quartet broke into the US Top 10 with their fourth album, The Sufferer & The Witness. The single ‘Ready To Fall’ also enjoyed success on the Modern Rock chart. It was due reward for a band at the forefront of the mainstream revival of traditional hardcore.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results