Perfect Stranger Biography

Formed in Carthage, Texas, USA in the mid-80s, Perfect Stranger was formed by members of the Mike Hackett Band. Originally known as Midnight Express, the group originally comprised Richard Raines (guitar), Steve Murray, Shayne Morrison (bass) and Andy Ginn (drums). After years of hard touring and struggling to get signed, the group circumvented the major labels’ monopoly of country music by releasing a debut single, ‘Ridin’ The Rodeo’, on their own independent label, Pacific Records. A debut album followed, and shortly afterwards the single ‘You Have The Right To Remain Silent’ became a major airplay success despite distribution problems. Signed shortly afterwards to Curb Records, the single reached number 4 under the new distribution deal. An album of the same title was released in June 1995 and achieved a Top 10 placing on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart (this collection was mainly an update of the group’s limited pressing debut It’s Up To You). The band was judged by the country music press to represent a new breed of raw country acts. Ginn left before the group began work on their second Curb album. Scott Matthews (drums) and Larry Weber (keyboards) were brought in to augment the remaining trio.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results