Mississippi Heat Biography

Formed in Chicago, Illinois, USA, in 1992, Mississippi Heat quickly built up its popularity on the local blues club scene. The original personnel was led by Belgian-born Pierre Lacocque (harmonica), and comprised Billy Flynn (guitar), James Wheeler (guitar), Bob Stroger (bass), and Robert Covington (Robert Lee Travis, 13 December 1941, Yazoo City, Mississippi, USA, d. 17 January 1996; vocals/drums). By the time the band made their debut album Straight From The Heart, singer Deitra Farr and drummer Allen Kirk had replaced Covington. Further line-up changes saw pianist Barrelhouse Chuck joining the band and Farr and Kirk moving on, their places taken by singers Mary Lane and Zora Young (b. 21 January 1948, West Point, Mississippi, USA) and drummer Kenny Smith. In the new millennium the line-up included Inetta Visor (vocals), Steve Howard (bass), Chris Winters (guitar/vocals), Michael Thomas (guitar) and Roger Weaver (keyboards), with guest appearances by Carl Weathersby and Billy Boy Arnold.

A solid and workmanlike contemporary blues band, the reputation of Mississippi Heat has spread a little owing to their well-received albums but they remain best known in and firmly associated with Chicago. In 2005, they signed a recording contract with Delmark Records.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results