Hatebreed Biography

Perhaps the hardest working US hardcore band of the late 90s, Hatebreed’s crushing combination of old-school hardcore and aggressive metal flourishes enabled them to be almost constantly on the road in support of bands as diverse as NOFX and Morbid Angel. Intended as a simple, but brutal rebuff to the music scene, Jamey Jasta (James Shanahan, 7 August 1978, New Haven, Connecticut, USA; vocals), Chris ‘The X-Mas Bitch’ Beattie (b. 7 September 1976, Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA; bass), Larry Dwyer Jnr. (guitar), Wayne Lozinak (guitar) and Dave Russo (drums) formed the band in New Haven, Connecticut, USA in 1994. Their first demo, the three-track Hate Stricken Creation, made an instant impact on the extreme music scene and two split-singles followed before the release of the Under The Knife demo on Jasta’s own label. Distributed by Victory Records, the release soon became one of the hottest sellers in the catalogue, bringing Hatebreed to the attention of label boss Tony Brummel, who promptly signed them.

A number of line-up changes ensued, with Jasta and Beattie joined by Lou ‘Boulder’ Richards (b. 12 October 1971, Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA, d. 13 September 2006, USA; guitar), Matt McIntosh (guitar) and Jamie ‘Pushbutton’ McVey (drums). The band’s debut album 1997’s Satisfaction Is The Death Of Desire (the title inspired by a movie about Mohammed Ali), created label history by selling more copies than any other debut ever released by the label. After this release, minor personnel changes saw the addition of Sean Martin (b. 22 February 1972, Waterbury, Connecticut, USA; guitar) and Rigg Ross (drums) to the line-up. The following year was Hatebreed’s busiest so far, explosive performances on the Warped Tour of North America helped expand their fanbase beyond the punk and hardcore fraternity, leading to further high visibility tours and performances with such recognisable names as Slayer, Danzig and Motörhead.

Hatebreed continued to tour throughout 1999 and 2000, and returned to the studio with producer Steve Evetts in November that year to work on their second album. Ross departed in 2001, with Matt Byrne (initially a temporary replacement) joining the band as their new drummer. Their major label debut, Perseverance, was released in March 2002. Troubled guitarist Lou Richards left the band prior to the recording of the follow-up, The Rise Of Brutality, which was recorded by a four man line-up. Frank ‘3 Gun’ Novinec was added to the line-up for the recording of the band’s fourth album, Supremacy.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results