Harpers Bizarre Biography

Evolving from Santa Cruz band the Tikis, the original Harpers Bizarre emerged in late 1966 with a line-up comprising Ted Templeman (Theodore Templeman, 24 October 1944, Santa Cruz, California, USA; lead vocals/guitar), Dick Scoppettone (b. 5 July 1945, California, USA; vocals/guitar), Dick Yount (b. 9 January 1945, California, USA; vocals/bass), Eddie James (b. California, USA; guitar) and former Beau Brummels member John Petersen (b. 8 January 1942, Rudyard, Michigan, USA, d. 11 November 2007, USA; drums/vocals). A sprightly cover version of Simon And Garfunkel’s ‘The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)’ brought them a US Top 20 hit and became a perennial radio favourite. Harpers Bizarre’s first album, boasting the arranging skills of Leon Russell and the composing talents of Randy Newman, backed by their exceptional vocal talent, proved an enticing debut. After covering Van Dyke Parks’ ‘Come To The Sunshine’, they worked with the man himself on the hit follow-up, a revival of Cole Porter’s ‘Anything Goes’. An album of the same name combined similar standards with material by Parks and Newman.

After two more albums (with Dick Young replacing James) the band split up in 1969. Templeman became a name staff producer for Warner Brothers Records, while the other members reunited briefly six years later for the album As Time Goes By.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results