George Formby The War and Post-War Years, Volume 2 (5-CD Box Set)

The War and Post-War Years, Volume 2 (5-CD Box
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
Your Price: $30.43
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Save for Later
Format: CD  (5 Discs)
Item:  KDJ2
on most orders of $35
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: November 30, 2005
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Swinging Along
  • 2.A Lad from Lancashire
  • 3.The Lancashire Romeo
  • 4.Imagine Me in the Maginot Line
  • 5.Grandad's Flannelette Nightshirt
  • 6.Mr Wu's a Window Cleaner Now
  • 7.Count Your Blessings and Smile
  • 8.Oh! Don't the Wind Blow Cold?
  • 9.You've Got Something There
  • 10.I Always Get to Bed by Hald-Past Nine
  • 11.On the Wigan Boat Express
  • 12.Down the Old Coal Hole
  • 13.I'm the Ukelele Man
  • 14.On the Beat
  • 15.Letting the New Year In
  • 16.Bless 'Em All
  • 17.Guarding the Home of the Home Guards
  • 18.I Wish I Was Back on the Farm
  • 19.Formby Favourites for the Forces, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 20.Thanks, Mr Roosevelt
  • 21.Bless 'Em All, Pt. 2

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.It Might Have Been a Great Deal Worse
  • 2.You've Be Far Better off in a Home
  • 3.I Did What I Could with My Gas Mask
  • 4.Delivering the Morning Milk
  • 5.The Emperor of Lancashire
  • 6.You Can't Go Wrong in These
  • 7.Auntie Maggie's Remedy
  • 8.You're Everything to Me
  • 9.I'd Do It with a Smile
  • 10.The Left-Hand Side of Egypt
  • 11.Who Are You A-Shoving Of?
  • 12.The Barmaid at the Rose and Crown
  • 13.I Played on My Spanish Guitar
  • 14.Swing Mama
  • 15.George Formby's Crazy Record, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 16.Formby Film Favourites, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 17.Katy Did, Katy Didn't
  • 18.Frank on His Tank
  • 19.Smile All the Time
  • 20.Out in the Middle East

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Andy the Handy Man
  • 2.They Laughed When I Started to Play
  • 3.Talking to the Moon About You
  • 4.Got to Get Your Photo in the Press
  • 5.Mr Wu's an Air Raid Warden Now
  • 6.Sally the Salvage Queen
  • 7.Thirty Thirsty Sailors
  • 8.Hold Your Hats On
  • 9.The Cook House Serenade
  • 10.You Can't Love Two Girls at the Same Time
  • 11.Under the Blasted Oak
  • 12.When the Lads of the Village Get Crackin'
  • 13.When the Waterworks Caught Fire
  • 14.The Baby Show
  • 15.Home Guard Blues
  • 16.Oh! You Have No Idea
  • 17.Spotting on Top of Blackpool Tower
  • 18.Sentimental Lou
  • 19.British Isles Medley
  • 20.American Medley
  • 21.On the HMS Cowheel
  • 22.Bunty's Such a Big Girl Now

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.It Serves You Right (You Shouldn't Have Joined)
  • 2.If I Had a Girl Like You
  • 3.Swim, Little Fish
  • 4.Bell Bottom George
  • 5.The 'V' Sign Song
  • 6.The Old Cane Bottom Chair
  • 7.Our Fanny's Gone All Yankee
  • 8.Unconditional Surrender
  • 9.Blackpool Prom
  • 10.Mr Wu's in the Air Force
  • 11.The Darling Young Man
  • 12.I'd Like a Dream Like That
  • 13.She's Got Two of Everything
  • 14.Up in the Air and Down in the Dumps
  • 15.Excerpt from 'Get Cracking'
  • 16.You Don't Need a License for That
  • 17.The Mad March Hare
  • 18.It Could Be
  • 19.We've Been a Long Time Gone
  • 20.Auntie Maggie's Remedy
  • 21.Leaning on a Lamp Post
  • 22.When I'm Cleaning Windows
  • 23.Come Hither with Your Zither

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Saving Up for Sally
  • 2.Pleasure Cruise
  • 3.Ordinary People
  • 4.Zip Goes a Million
  • 5.It Takes No Time to Fall in Love
  • 6.Nothing Breaks But the Heart
  • 7.Do de O Do
  • 8.Chineselaundryblues
  • 9.Baby
  • 10.You Can't Keep a Growing Lad Down
  • 11.You Can't Keep a Growing Lad Down
  • 12.It's No Use Looking at Me
  • 13.John Willie's Jazz Band
  • 14.There's Nothing Proud About Me
  • 15.Madame Moscovitch
  • 16.Sitting on the Sands All Night
  • 17.Dare-Devil Dick
  • 18.The Ghost
  • 19.Mother, What'll I Do Now?
  • 20.Hitting the High Spots
  • 21.Under the Blasted Oak
  • 22.Oh! You Have No Idea
  • 23.The 'V' Sign Song

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Drew Kent.
Recording information: 10/12/1939-11/05/1951.
This extensive five-CD chronicle of the British entertainer George Formby's World War II output features live morale-boosting performances of classic novelty songs like "Mr. Wu's a Window Cleaner Now," "It Might Have Been a Great Deal Worse," and "She's Got Two of Everything." Formby, who also had a successful acting career, is a link to the pre-war British music hall, and his idiosyncratic style and broad Lancashire accent are an education in mid 20th-century British tastes in entertainment.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for George Formby

Product Info:

  • UPC: 788065190224
  • Shipping Weight: 1.03/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)