George Jones Dispatches: 1990-99

Dispatches: 1990-99
Rating 5.0
1 rating
Your Price: $23.99
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  FQYV
on most orders of $35
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 29, 2005
  • Label: Raven [Australia]


  • 1.Hell Stays Open (All Night Long)
  • 2.I Sleep Just Like a Baby
  • 3.All Fall Down
  • 4.Angels Don't Fly
  • 5.You Couldn't Get the Picture
  • 6.Come Home to Me
  • 7.Where the Tall Grass Grows
  • 8.She Loved a Lot in Her Time
  • 9.You Done Me Wrong
  • 10.There's the Door
  • 11.The Visit
  • 12.Tear Me Out of the Picture
  • 13.A Thousand Times a Day
  • 14.Hello Darlin'
  • 15.It Ain't Gonna Worry My Mind
  • 16.Tied to a Stone
  • 17.Wild Irish Rose
  • 18.When Did You Stop Loving Me?
  • 19.Choices
  • 20.Our Bed of Roses
  • 21.The Cold Hard Truth
  • 22.When the Last Curtain Falls

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: John Dowler.
George Jones recorded steadily throughout the '90s, sometimes racking up some minor hits, sometimes having one of his records -- such as 1999's The Cold Hard Truth -- being hailed as a return to form. Most of the time, he made tasteful, unremarkable records that had a couple of highlights but rarely distinguished themselves from his other latter-day records, so it was hard even for dedicated fans to separated 1991's And Along Came Jones from 1992's Walls Can Fall. Raven's 2005 compilation Dispatches: 1990-99 does those fans a favor by culling the highlights from those records, ignoring singles for gems buried deep on those albums. Since this was assembled with a subjective eye, it shouldn't be a surprise that the compilers favor ballads and ignore novelties and while that might be both a smart and accurate move, about a third of the way through, the compilation begins to suffer from the flaw common to Jones' '90s albums: they're a little samey. True, these are by and large the best songs he recorded during the decade -- and it's certainly the best way for fans of his classic work to sample his latter-day work -- but after a while, it's hard not to wish that "I Don't Need Your Rockin' Chair" or something like it was thrown in just for a change of pace, since 22 slick ballads from the '90s is an awful lot to take in one sitting. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for George Jones

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 91,014
  • UPC: 612657019924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm