Kathryn Tickell Gathering

1 rating
Price: $19.52
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  J775
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Park Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Rain Check
  • Buy for $0.992.The Lads of Alnwick / Sunderland Lasses / Peacocks March
  • Buy for $0.993.Redesdale
  • Buy for $0.994.Bettaille Dans la P‚tit Arbre / Acharavi Waltz, La
  • Buy for $0.995.The Gathering
  • Buy for $0.996.Kates House
  • Buy for $0.997.Real Blues Reel
  • Buy for $0.998.St. Kilda Wedding / Pjotr
  • Buy for $0.999.Green Brechans O'Branton / I Saw My Love Come Come Passing by Me
  • Buy for $0.9910.Tune for Matt Robson / Kathleen
  • Buy for $0.9911.Mr. Nelson's Birthday Waltz

Product Description:

Personnel: Kathryn Tickell (Northumbrian pipes, fiddle); Ian Carr (guitar); Brendan Power (harmonica); Paul Flush (piano); Neil Harland (bass).
Recorded at Redesdale Studios, Northumberland, Ireland. Includes liner notes by Kathryn Tickell.
Personnel: Kathryn Tickell (fiddle); Ian Carr (guitar); Brendan Power (harmonica); Paul Flush (piano).
Audio Mixer: Jim Sutherland.
Recording information: Redesdale Studios, Northumberland.
Photographers: Graham Oliver ; John Faulkner .
Arrangers: Ian Carr ; Kathryn Tickell.
The sixth album by this young talent again finds Kathryn Tickell displaying her exemplary skill on both fiddle and Northumbrian pipes. The Gathering consists of a wide range of traditional styles, Tickell originals and even a Brendan Power tune -- "Real Blues Reel" -- which actually has harmonica whiz Power and Tickell (on pipes) performing in perfect unison with one another. That unlikely pairing is the by-product of their first meeting at a Cork music festival where, unbeknownst to either artist, they were scheduled to perform on stage together. Tickell possesses many strengths on both instruments and displays them quite naturally and very tastefully. "Lads of Alnwick" requires both speed and precision on the pipes to do the piece justice, and at the risk of sounding clich‚d, she delivers an "infectious melody" on an old favorite, "Peacock's March." "La Bettaille Dans La Petit Arbre" is an uptempo Cajun waltz which she plays painstakingly on fiddle, and "Tune for Matt Robeson" is an introspective fiddle tune she wrote in memory of her grandfather. Through it all, her band -- Ian Carr on acoustic guitar and Neil Harland on bass -- provides Tickell with adept accompaniment and periodically gets to showcase their expert abilities. ~ Dave Sleger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Kathryn Tickell

Product Info

  • UPC: 769934003920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)