Mark Spoelstra Out of My Hands

Out of My Hands
7 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  VQFG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 4, 2002
  • Label: Origin Jazz


  • 1.I'm a Stranger Everywhere
  • 2.Angelette in Blue
  • 3.Just For You
  • 4.Crazy Blue
  • 5.School Boy Crush
  • 6.San Joaquin County Fair
  • 7.Hug Today
  • 8.T-Bone T-Bone Blues
  • 9.San Francisco Zoo
  • 10.Dancer's Choice IV
  • 11.Touchy Tiger
  • 12.Teach You to Relax
  • 13.Yosemite Valley
  • 14.River of Mercy
  • 15.Fishin' Song
  • 16.Ileanna

Product Description:

Personnel: Mark Spoelstra (vocals, 6- & 12-string guitars); Chris Christensen, Rick Levine (harmonica).
Recorded at JComm Studios, Stockton and Mad Lab Studios, Lakewood, California
in December 2000 and February 21 & April 14, 2001. Includes liner notes by
Cary Ginell and Mark Spoelstra.
Personnel: Mark Spoelstra (12-string guitar); Chris Christensen, Rick Levine (harmonica).
Seasoned folk-blues guitarist Mark Spoelstra, who remains an unfortunately unrecognized member of the '60s folk revival, performs his own original songs on Out of My Hands, his first recording in over 20 years. His days dueting with a young Bob Dylan may be far behind him, but his passion for clear, Delta-influenced guitar work and his bright vocals are none the worse for wear. His chiming 12-string guitar songs evoke the simple and powerful work of Leadbelly, while his duets with harmonica players Rick Levine and Chris Christensen showcase the influence of friends Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee. The roadside blues of "Crazy Blue" could've been lifted from the Lightnin' Hopkins songbook, but the sunny children's song "San Francisco Zoo" pays tribute to Pete Seeger's best and goofiest sing-alongs. Shining through all of these pedigreed folk influences is Spoilstra's own winning intimacy and good-naturedness, which really makes every song his own. ~ Zac Johnson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mark Spoelstra

Product Info

  • UPC: 784554200122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)