Martin Simpson A Closer Walk With Thee

A Closer Walk With Thee
5 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FRQG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Gourd Music


  • Buy for $0.991.Palms of Victory
  • Buy for $0.992.Wash In That Beautiful Pool / Waiting For The Boatman
  • Buy for $0.993.Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down
  • Buy for $0.994.Wondrous Love
  • Buy for $0.995.O Jerusalem / Go Down Moses
  • Buy for $0.996.Wayfaring Stranger
  • Buy for $0.997.What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  • Buy for $0.998.Down In The Valley To Pray / Continue To Roll
  • Buy for $0.999.A Psalm of Life
  • Buy for $0.9910.There's a Great Change
  • Buy for $0.9911.A Closer Walk With Thee
  • Buy for $0.9912.In the Wilderness
  • Buy for $0.9913.What Are They Doing in Heaven Today?
  • Buy for $0.9914.To Be a Pilgrim
  • Buy for $0.9915.Bright Morning Stars / Watch The Stars
  • Buy for $0.9916.I'll Fly Away

Product Description:

Personnel: Martin Simpson (guitar, mandola, mandolin), Paul Hostetter (guitar, banjo), Joe Weed (strings, fiddle, mandolin), Doug Burns (harmonica), Randy Masters (trumpet, flugelhorn).
Recorded at Highland Studio, Los Gatos, California. Includes liner notes by Martin Simpson.
A CLOSER WALK WITH THEE is an album of Martin Simpson's instrumental arrangements of classic American Gospel songs.
Martin Simpson is simply one of the most talented folk-rooted acoustic guitar players in the world, and he has plenty of opportunities to demonstrate his sensitive musicianship on A Closer Walk With Thee, a collection of traditional gospel tunes. On many of the tracks, Simpson has overdubbed baritone guitars, mandolas, and mandolins over his stunningly beautiful acoustic arrangements. Additionally, he has enlisted other musicians to supply, at times, trumpet, flugelhorn, harmonica, strings, and banjo. All of this instrumentation is used to great effect on such tracks as "Palms of Victory," where the simple yet moving melody is traded off among the different instruments in an extremely effective fashion. Simpson is an excellent slide player as well, and his sweet touch is demonstrated on "Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down" and elsewhere. It should be said that Simpson and company do not just play the tunes straight, but rather use some creative arranging to maximize the impact of each of the songs, which are fairly simple in their own right. One questionable call is Joe Weed's dense string arrangements, which may strike some listeners, especially those who tend to be purists, as overkill. Idiomatic or not, they are dramatic and stirring, and considering that Simpson's goal is not to record these tunes exactly like someone might have done it in the '20s, but to bring out the timeless character of these melodies and sonorities in new ways, they work marvelously. This is a very impressive effort from Martin Simpson and is well-worth the attention of anyone who loves American folk music. ~ Daniel Gioffre

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Martin Simpson

Product Info

  • UPC: 090167011728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)