Salamander Crossing Henry Street (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
1 rating
Only 8 copies left
List Price: $22.98
Your Price: $20.68
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  SIGN 1261

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 12, 2000
  • Label: Signature Sounds

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Desert Wind
  • 2.Big Black Bird
  • 3.Thief
  • 4.Child of the Wind
  • 5.Fire in the Sky
  • 6.God Bless That Poor Moonshiner
  • 7.Things We Said Today
  • 8.Burning Bridges
  • 9.I Believed in Love
  • 10.Wheels
  • 11.Shotgun Down the Avalanche
  • 12.Dona Nobis Pacem :: Peace On Earth

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Passion Train
  • 2.Two Faces
  • 3.Trip Me Up
  • 4.Sweetest Song
  • 5.Oh My Little Darlin' / Ruby On The Railroad
  • 6.Color Outside the Lines
  • 7.Rocky Mountain Side
  • 8.Broken Night
  • 9.Walls of Time
  • 10.The New Madera Waltz
  • 11.Old Woman Lament
  • 12.Down in the Milltown
  • 13.Wade in the Water
  • 14.Tear My Stillhouse Down

Product Description:

HENRY STREET: A RETROSPECTIVE contains two complete albums & previously unreleased bonus tracks.
Compilation producer: Jim Olsen.
Includes liner notes by Ed McKeon.
Digitally remastered by David Glaser (Airshow).
Salamander Crossing: Jeff Kelliber (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Rani Arbo (vocals, fiddle); Andrew Kinsey (vocals, banjo).
Additional personnel: Tony Furtado (banjo).
Engineer: Norman Blain.
Recorded at Guy's Boogitie Shoe Shop, Shutesbury, Massachusetts in December 1994 and January & February 1995.
Salamander Crossing: Jeff Kelliber (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Rani Arbo (vocals, fiddle, viola); Andrew Kinsey (vocals, bass); Tim Farnham (banjo).
Additional personnel: Brooks Williams (guitar); Tony Furtado (banjo, dobro); David Hamburger (dobro); Scott Kessel (percussion).
Producer: Brooks Williams.
Engineer: Greg Steele.
Recorded at Derek Studios, Dalton, Massachusetts in March 1996.
At the end of 1999, the three members of Salamander Crossing decided to go their separate ways, ending eight years of collaboration and performing together. Henry Street: A Retrospective is a generous collection that documents Salamander Crossing's first two albums, Salamander Crossing and Passion Train, with the addition of several bonus tracks. The core of the band is made up of bassist/vocalist Andrew Kinsey, fiddle player/vocalist Rani Arbo, and guitarist/mandolinist/vocalist Jeff Kelliher. A crisp acoustic sound and strong vocals, complete with smooth harmony, characterize Salamander Crossing. Rani Arbo's vocals are particularly expressive, bringing a touch of sadness and longing to songs like Sean Vernon's "I Believed in Love." The slow, melancholy "Thief" proves perfect for her emotive delivery. The group also sings a number of songs together, as on the minor-keyed "Fire in the Sky," with beautiful contrasting harmony, featuring Arbo singing above Kinsey's lead. One bonus track, "Old Woman Lament," begins like a gospel number, only to turn into an acoustic rocker, grounded with a heavy, pounding bassline. The musicianship throughout is first class, with Arbo's bluesy fiddle proving just right for songs like "The New Madera Waltz" and Kelliher's guitar adding extra pizzazz to "Trip Me Up." Like the Whites, Salamander Crossing distinguishes themselves with good song choices and concise harmony. They also have the same ability as the Whites to combine bluegrass and folk into a silky acoustic hybrid. Henry Street: A Retrospective provides a good snapshot of the band's early musical journey, and should be a great place to start for those unfamiliar with the band. Fans are sure to hear good things from the talented individuals of Salamander Crossing in the near future. ~Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 701237126128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items