New Lost City Ramblers New Lost City Ramblers Volume 2, 1963-1973, Out Standing in Their Field

New Lost City Ramblers Volume 2, 1963-1973, Out
5 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  AVEC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Smithsonian Folkways


  • Buy for $0.991.John Brown's Dream
  • Buy for $0.992.Riding on the Train 45
  • Buy for $0.993.The Titanic
  • Buy for $0.994.Don't Get Trouble in Your Mind
  • Buy for $0.995.Cowboy Waltz
  • Buy for $0.996.Shut up in the Mines of Coal Creek
  • Buy for $0.997.Private John Q
  • Buy for $0.998.Old Johnny Booker Won't Do
  • Buy for $0.999.I've Always Been a Rambler
  • Buy for $0.9910.Automobile Trip Through Alabama
  • Buy for $0.9911.Who Killed Poor Robin?
  • Buy for $0.9912.My Wife Died on Saturday Night
  • Buy for $0.9913.Little Satchel
  • Buy for $0.9914.Black Bottom Strut
  • Buy for $0.9915.The Cat's Got the Measles Dog's Got the Whooping Cough
  • Buy for $0.9916.Dear Okie
  • Buy for $0.9917.Smoketown Strut
  • Buy for $0.9918.The Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake
  • Buy for $0.9919.Fishin' Creek Blues
  • Buy for $0.9920.'31 Depression Blues
  • Buy for $0.9921.Black Jack Davey
  • Buy for $0.9922.Victory Rag
  • Buy for $0.9923.The Little Carpenter
  • Buy for $0.9924.On Our Turpentine Farm
  • Buy for $0.9925.Parlez-Nous A Boire
  • Buy for $0.9926.Valse du Bambocheur
  • Buy for $0.9927.Old Joe Bone

Product Description:

The New Lost City Ramblers: Tracy Schwartz, Mike Seeger, John Cohen.
OUT STANDING IN THEIR FIELD compiles 27 tracks originally released on various Folkways albums.
Personnel: Tracy Schwarz (vocals, tenor, guitar, banjo, fiddle, spoons); Mike Seeger (vocals, tenor, guitar, dulcimer, autoharp, fiddle, harmonica); John Curley (vocals, guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle); John Cohen (bass voice, guitar, banjo, claw hammer banjo, mandolin, triangle).
Audio Remasterer: Henk Kooistra.
Liner Note Author: Jon Pankake.
Photographer: Robert Frank .
This 72-minute companion piece to The Early Years (1958-1962) is drawn from the seven Folkways albums that the New Lost City Ramblers recorded between 1963 and 1973, following the entry of Tracy Schwartz and the departure of Tom Paley, and it's every bit as essential as the first volume. Continuing their emphasis on careful replication of many difficult regional and popular folk forms, one is continually amazed by the versatility of Schwartz, John Cohen, and Mike Seeger, as they bounce from lively fiddle tunes, to instrumental waltzes, from more traditional bluegrass songs to Cajun influences. No doubt, this was a productive period for the NLCR, as many of the 27 tracks should be required listening for fans of traditional string-band music. Excellent liner notes and commentary by Jon Pankake also make this a quality collection. ~ Matt Fink

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for New Lost City Ramblers

Product Info

  • UPC: 093074004029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)