Holly Near And Still We Sing: The Outspoken Collection (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
3 ratings
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $28.98
Your Price: $26.08
You Save: $2.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  CLTR 5

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 17, 2002
  • Label: Calico Tracks Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Fired Up!
  • 2.I Ain't Afraid
  • 3.Voices
  • 4.They Are Falling All Around Me
  • 5.To Raise the Morning Star
  • 6.Foolish Notion
  • 7.I Got Trouble
  • 8.No More Songs
  • 9.Family Promise
  • 10.Power
  • 11.Simply Love
  • 12.In the Face of Love
  • 13.Ain't No Where You Can Run
  • 14.Wrap the Sun Around You
  • 15.Change of Heart
  • 16.No More Genocide
  • 17.O Holy Night
  • 18.I Wish You Were Here
  • 19.It Could Have Been Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sing to Me the Dream
  • 2.Pajita, La (The Little Piece of Straw)
  • 3.Marusa, La
  • 4.They Dance Alone
  • 5.Todovia Cantamos (Still We Sing)
  • 6.Pallet on the Floor
  • 7.Hay Una Mujer Desaparecida
  • 8.Fight Back
  • 9.Waterfall
  • 10.We're Not Alone
  • 11.Mountain Song
  • 12.Singer in the Storm
  • 13.Ella's Song (We Who Believe in Freedom)
  • 14.Harriet Tubman
  • 15.Don't You Worry
  • 16.Te Doy Una Cancion (I Offer You a Song)
  • 17.The Great Peace March
  • 18.Singing for Our Lives

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Holly Near, Ronnie Gilbert, Mercedes Sosa, Brian Lane Green (vocals); Ray Obeido, June Millington (acoustic & electric guitars); Michael Thompson (guitar); Adrienne Torf (piano, electric piano, Clavinet, keyboards, synthesizer); John Bucchino (piano, keyboards); Carrie Barton, Michael Manring (bass); Cam Davis (drums); Sheila Escovedo, Vicki Randle (percussion); Inti-Illimani.
Personnel: Holly Near (vocals); Mercedes Sosa, Ronnie Gilbert, Brian Lane Green (vocals); Nicol s "Colacho" Brizuela, Eric Lowen, Michael Hart Thompson , Melissa Etheridge (guitar); Evie Sands, Ray Obiedo (acoustic guitar); Mark Goldenberg, Robben Ford (electric guitar); Sarah T. Cline, Susan Laraine, Sapphron Obois (horns); Jeff Langley, John Bucchino (piano); Derek Nakamoto (Fender Rhodes piano); Steve Wood (keyboards, background vocals); Poppi Spatocco, George Merrill (keyboards); Mary Watkins (vibraphone); John Pierce (electric bass); Jennifer Condos (fretless bass); Janelle Burdell, Cam Davis, Bernice Brooks, Bonnie Johnson, Tris Imboden (drums); Annette Aguilar (congas); Nydia Mata (bongos); Osvaldo Avena, Jackeline Rago, Sheila Escovedo, Bobbye Hall (percussion); Andre dos Santos Morgan, Beth Fitchet, Guy Thomas, Joey Blake, Linda Tillery, Vicki Randle (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Jay Thompson.
Recording information: Universal Amphitheater, Los Angeles, CA.
Photographer: Mike Rogers.
Translator: John Sullivan Dwight.
Arrangers: Holly Near; Derek Nakamoto; John Bucchino; Brian Lane Green.
Holly Near has made a career out of speaking out, so calling her collection And Still We Sing: The Outspoken Collection seems an apt one. In the tradition of the '60s protest singer, Near has never been shy about wearing her liberal beliefs on her shirt sleeve. Although some of the material dates back to the '70s, most of it has been recorded within the last 20 years or so. The first disc is made up of studio tracks from earlier Near albums, including 2000's Edge, 1989's Sky Dances, and 1981's Fire in the Rain; the second disc consists mostly of live tracks featuring a number of guests like Mercedes Sosa and Ronnie Gilbert. Near's songs and lyrics read like a list of left-leaning political causes from the past 20 years, covering everything from nuclear fallout ("Ain't No Where You Can Run") to war ("Foolish Notion") to workers without work ("I Got Trouble"). Although one can never doubt Near's commitment, the arrangements on many of these songs sound dated and occasionally bombastic. The political causes, likewise, sometimes seem like yesterday's news. Nonetheless, longtime fans, aware of Near's politics and style, will be glad to have all of these tracks gathered on And Still We Sing. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Holly Near

Product Info:

  • UPC: 646506000528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.32/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items